XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Sat Jul 11, 2020 12:54 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 673
este.el.paz wrote:
Latest update:
. . . . I don't know whether adding more than the 16 GB RAM I have on my '12 Mac Pro would improve the 10.14/15 system's ability to sleep???? I'm sure the machine "would use it" . . . but, trying to keep the power draw as "reasonable" as possible on my gas guzzler cMP . . . V8 engine with the Quad-core throttle body fuel injection . . . so the "miserly" version of the V8 package.


----
You could reset sleep mode with (pmset) to file mode (/private/var/vm/sleepimage) and
see if your Mac sleeps okay when writing the sleep file to disk.
In terminal:
sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 25

If that doesn't help something else is wrong.

To change it back:
sudo pmset -a hibernatemode 3

Like Tia Said: "Sleep doesn't work right on any Mac unless all things are aligned properly."

To see your Power Management settings:
pmset -g

Note: The sleepimage file on my cMP (Sierra) is normally about 18GB (with all programs closed
before sleep). It's 34 GB from the last shutdown (because of a lightning storm-no time to exit programs).

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and its Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 7:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2842
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
If you are using an SSD you don't want to be writing the sleep image to disk. It will be the entirety of your RAM, including the empty bits. Worrying about power on after sleep outside of the usual Apple related bugs is pointless. RAM doesn't eat a lot of juice when returning to a fully powered state. Current inrush is minimal. You're talking 1.5v or 3.3v (at worst) and not a lot of amperage. RAM wasn't designed to carry a ton of amps.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Yeah there is no real power difference between 2GB modules and 8GB modules. 8 doesn't use 4 times as much power, it uses the same, because there are usually exactly the same number of chips, they're just denser on the larger module. Instead of 1Mb chips it's 4Mb chips, for example.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2020 6:43 am 
Offline
Team Towel Guy

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:01 pm
Posts: 1247
OK, thanks again for the replies . . . I did adjust the hibernatemode number, possibly to 3??? in both my 10.13 and 10.15 installs, in the 13 it "works" pretty well; in the 15 it really doesn't. It's OK, I don't use the 15 for much of anything, possibly for iCloud accessing at some point?

But,OK, learning is a process, I try to get the gist of the hardware stuff w/o being a total PITA . . . just a partial . . . so it sounds like it isn't the "capacity" that pulls the juice, it's the number of sticks, each stick has a certain draw??

So, I have 4 4's I believe, and that would pull basically the same as 4 8's would, if I were to go there? So, the big power suck is the CPU and/or the GPU??


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group