XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Fri Jul 10, 2020 5:59 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:17 pm
Posts: 3
Can I use this method to upgrade to 5.1? Is it sound a fool proof?

https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Upg ... 85#s182628

I was reading the documentation and it says I have to upgrade the OSX to El Capitan first. This I cannot do. It just won't install it on any drive. Can I upgrade the firmware while in the Yosemite OSX? This is my only option.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:24 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
Welcome aboard Nelson ! :welcome:

Team, there's also more info here...

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/251006589

Small site & most are asleep now, but hang in there! :coffee: :welcome: :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:17 pm
Posts: 3
Cool. Thanks. Here is everything I have tried to do. And yes, that is my post. I can't upgrade to El Capitan to save my life. I have a 2013 MBP with High Sierra and even tried to format an external drive, but Hs wouldn't let me open El Cap to format it on the external drive of my MBP. I always thought you could go backwards.

What I am trying to do is force a version of El Cap on a drive and boot it from my Mac Pro. I am trying everything. I get the installer to work and about 24 minutes in, it tells me it can't in stall and I have to restart. When I restart it comes back to the El Cap installer instead of going back to my boot disk.

See pics.
Attachment:
IMG_2057.JPG
IMG_2057.JPG [ 19.39 KiB | Viewed 1354 times ]
Attachment:
IMG_2058.JPG
IMG_2058.JPG [ 11.92 KiB | Viewed 1354 times ]
Attachment:
IMG_2059.JPG
IMG_2059.JPG [ 16.08 KiB | Viewed 1354 times ]


Then it tries to install again and after 17 minutes does the same thing. I have to quit installer and go to my boot disk manually to get my mac back.

I am perplexed. Is there anything I am missing? All I have left is Yosemite, and can't even load office for mac any more. I feel like I own a boat anchor. (LOL)

Some other guy in apple support said I have old drives that are outdate by the manufacturer. Can that be a problem.


Mac Pro (Early 2009)
2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
16 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC
5 Internal
NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512 MB
S/N = intentionally blank

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
Number of Processors: 2
Total Number of Cores: 8
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache (per Processor): 8 M
Memory: 16 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 5.86 GT/s
Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07
SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
Serial Number (system):
Serial Number (processor tray):
Hardware UUID:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 10:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 7:17 pm
Posts: 3
Good News, I upgraded. I found an el capitan .dmg installer for macs that can't be upgraded, beyond El Cap. Then I found the first version of the el Capitan upgrade for use with Snow leopard. Using them both I upgraded to EL Capitan.

I need to get up to MAC OSX High Sierra to run some adobe apps. I guess I now have to upgrade the firmware? https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/How+to+Upg ... 85#s182628

Can I get two more OSX upgrades to High sierra? Do I install Sierra then Install High Sierra?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 783
Location: Wakefield, UK
If you've got your machine to 5,1, I don't see any reason it couldn't go straight to High Sierra. However if you want to run that on APFS, make sure you're OS drive is an SSD otherwise it runs like an absolute dog. If you're running HDD, stick with regular Sierra.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 7:46 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
Great news, good work, can you clone your MBP to an external drive then see if the cMP will boot from it using alt key on startup?

Carbon Copy Cloner...

http://www.bombich.com/software/ccc.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:15 pm
Posts: 6878
Location: NYC
juansolo wrote:
If you've got your machine to 5,1, I don't see any reason it couldn't go straight to High Sierra. However if you want to run that on APFS, make sure you're OS drive is an SSD otherwise it runs like an absolute dog. If you're running HDD, stick with regular Sierra.

Yeah APFS would be a problem, but I've been running HSierra (as well as Mojave on another partition via dosdude patcher) on a HFS+ platter drive. Both run just as fast as Sierra or El Cap.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 671
High Sierra install trick:

High Sierra won't change HFS+ to APFS when installed
to an external drive.

Install High Sierra to an HFS+ formatted USB external drive first,
then clone it back to an HFS+ Partition of your choice on your Mac Pro.

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and its Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:15 pm
Posts: 6878
Location: NYC
kjk555 wrote:
High Sierra install trick:

High Sierra won't change HFS+ to APFS when installed
to an external drive.

Install High Sierra to an HFS+ formatted USB external drive first,
then clone it back to an HFS+ Partition of your choice on your Mac Pro.

Not sure why this "trick" is needed. I installed HSierra as HFS+ directly to partition on internal.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 783
Location: Wakefield, UK
WZZZ wrote:
juansolo wrote:
If you've got your machine to 5,1, I don't see any reason it couldn't go straight to High Sierra. However if you want to run that on APFS, make sure you're OS drive is an SSD otherwise it runs like an absolute dog. If you're running HDD, stick with regular Sierra.

Yeah APFS would be a problem, but I've been running HSierra (as well as Mojave on another partition via dosdude patcher) on a HFS+ platter drive. Both run just as fast as Sierra or El Cap.


I had no idea you could do that!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:15 pm
Posts: 6878
Location: NYC
As far as I know, APFS formatting is mandatory with an SSD with HSierra and Mojave, but not with a hard disk drive. Maybe the "trick" using an external drive being referred to above is a workaround to prevent an SSD on an internal from automatically being converted to APFS. But not sure why this would be desired, since APFS is suited to SSD.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:11 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
APFS can get unrepairable, my cMP, 10.13.6 is purposely stuck on HFS+

diskutil list
/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *2.0 TB disk0
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS SSD 2TB 2.0 TB disk0s2
3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3


Attachments:
SSDHFS.gif
SSDHFS.gif [ 139.55 KiB | Viewed 1331 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:15 pm
Posts: 6878
Location: NYC
APFS can become unrepairable. Good reason then to stay wih HFS+.

EDIT and if I recall correctly, you first installed 10.13 to an external, then cloned that to the internal. So if that was the sequence, that was the HFS+ to SSD workaround right there


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11386
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
To be fair, it's possible for HFS to become unrepairable as well. I usually run Disk Warrior on disks that Finder reports "need to be backed up as soon as possible" when mounting after an interminable delay but that's a hail mary. Granted there is no DiskWarrior for APFS, at least not yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 671
To be clear:

High Sierra install will not force APFS on external drives (ssd or not),
nor will it force APFS on SSD's that are running in a hardware Raid array
(such as on an Areca SAS Raid installation or any other true hardware Raid controller).

Mojave install will force APFS on anything that resembles a single hard drive

Mojave will install on a Hardware Raid setup (it sees it as a generic single hard drive).

APFS does not work on Apple software Raid, however it will work
on Hardware Raid.

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and its Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 671
MonkeyBoy wrote:
To be fair, it's possible for HFS to become unrepairable as well. I usually run Disk Warrior on disks that Finder reports "need to be backed up as soon as possible" when mounting after an interminable delay but that's a hail mary. Granted there is no DiskWarrior for APFS, at least not yet.


I gave up on Disk Warrior quite some time ago.
Tech tool Pro is much more useful and can do the same job as Disk Warrior
and much, much more for about the the same Money.

True TTP used to be painfully slow repairing volume structures, but that is
no longer the case. It is about as quick a DW now and will repair disk images
that DW refuses to touch. It can even run volume structure repair on Truecryt
volumes, that is something DW could never do.

https://www.micromat.com/products/techtool-pro

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and its Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11386
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Nobody should be using Truecrypt, it was discontinued by the authors shortly before a code analysis could start, which - while not looking at the entire code base - found a number of issues. Which is probably why the authors abandoned it, they knew it needed a lot of work to live up to its hype.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:21 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
Plus, can't remember which App it was I was using to encrypt things, but Apple came along with their usual "You once were a Pig, you are now a Cow" OS changes & the App would not run to decrypt any more. :bonk:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 3:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11386
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Somewhere I still have a lot of DART floppy disk images. Apple dropped that thing like a hot potato long, long, long before they figured out how to implement compression in disk utility.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 4:39 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
And Apple had an App celled Backup/Backup 3, anybody used that is out of luck getting to the data.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 5:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11386
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I might have some DAT tapes with backups from Retrospect on them.

I think the drive they were written with predates DDS (the DAT data interoperability standard) and was whatever model Apple bundled with that impressive looking Workgroup Server 95 that ran A/UX (and included Retrospect). Good luck finding one of those still in working order (the system and the tape drive - Mac users have never been fond of regular maintenance, like tape head cleanings).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:37 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
Yeah, ouch!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 671
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Nobody should be using Truecrypt, it was discontinued by the authors shortly before a code analysis could start, which - while not looking at the entire code base - found a number of issues. Which is probably why the authors abandoned it, they knew it needed a lot of work to live up to its hype.


Really? Conflicting reports, most weakness found were issues in Windows OS
cryptograhic files.

Tell you what. I'll send you a truecrypt container on a USB.
If you can find anyone to break it, I'll quit using it.
Be aware I use a very large random generated password +
several keyfiles to open any TrueCypt volume. :)

TrueCrypt 7.1

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and its Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 7:13 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
Just wondering, what might you do when/if TrueCrypt will no longer run on OSX?

Apple seems dead set against allowing Apps any real access. :snail:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: new upgrade to 5.1
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 671
Probably won't be anytime soon.
It is a 64 bit app.

It would not to load on versions than later 10.9 of OSX, but
that error can be fixed with a simple syntax correction in its
sh batch file to allow it to load on OSX 10.10.x or later.

The batch file has nothing to do with the actual cryptography
program itself.

The nice thing about true crypt is the containers. A container
can masquerade as music or video file or just about any type
of file. If someone didn't know it was a encrypted truecrypt
file, they would easily mistake it for just some corrupt file
or some file they don't have a program for to run it.

You could name it, for example: Bubba's1970fishingtrip.cam

True crypt doesn't care what the name is. :)

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and its Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group