XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Fri Dec 06, 2019 3:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 223
I have an iMac, with MacOS Mojave and in the last 3 months, the iMac has failed to boot up twice. The progress bar appears to go 2/3 of the way and stops. I waited 30 minutes once, then tried to power down by pressing the power button in the back of the iMac and when nothing happened, I pulled the plug from the protected power strip. I waited 1 minute before plugging the plug back into the power strip and restarted the iMac and the computer started up just fine. It seems like something is malfunctioning during startup. Is there something I can do to prevent this from happening again? I thought it was a onw time incident the first time it happened, but I am concerned this time.

Can anyone explain to me what might be happening and offer a resolution to resolve this issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 11:11 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16744
Quote:
I pulled the plug from the protected power strip. I waited 1 minute before plugging the plug back into the power strip and restarted the iMac and the computer started up just fine

That is one way to reset the SMC, how old is the Mac?

Try the free demo of DriveDX...

https://binaryfruit.com/drivedx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 223
B,
The iMac is three years old


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:07 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16744
SSD or HDD?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 6:52 pm
Posts: 429
Location: New York City
It's secret code, hidden in the firmware, that is designed to help you deciding to buy a new machine. They won't admit it publicly, but after 3 years, they don't want to know from your issues, BUY A NEW MACHINE is the mantra.

Now, THAT is the kind of satire that holds grains of truth in it. Kind of like the Onion, at least in the past 2 years, where what they "report on" COULD very likely be true.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:26 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16744
:lol: :welcome:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 2:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 223
HDD, I believe
About this Mac shows: Startup Disd as MacIntosh HD

I wish I was so sophisticated to have a SSD. Guess it is 5 years old, my mistake!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:16 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16744
Well, run that DriveDX


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 223
B,
Not sure if I sent reply for SSD or HDD.
HDD, I believe
About this Mac shows: Startup Disd as MacIntosh HD

I wish I was so sophisticated enough to have a SSD. Guess the iMac is 5 years old, my mistake!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:39 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16744
So, is the OS too old to run DriveDX?


Apple at top left>About this Mac... what does it say there...

iMac (21.5-inch, Mid 2011)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 223
B,
loaded Drive DX on uMac; test results shows Mac HD test OK.

One question; does booting up in Safe Mode check anything?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 7:04 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16744
Yes Safe Boot does a Disk Repair & deletes lots of Caches.

What exact model is it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 223
B,

I have attached the "About this Mac screen

Attachment:
Screen Shot 2019-06-23 at 8.47.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-23 at 8.47.16 PM.png [ 86.03 KiB | Viewed 574 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:24 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16744
OK, I guess we need to wait & see if it happens again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 9:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10982
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Hopefully it isn't what I've seen before on Mojave - over time the HD gets slower until it actually starts timing out. The slower the HD the faster it happens, so far I've only seen it on old 5400rpm OEM drives Apple used in their laptops (which even when they were new were slow for 5400rpm drives). Permanent fix is to replace with an SSD, temporary fix is to erase & reinstall.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2019 10:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2755
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Hopefully it isn't what I've seen before on Mojave - over time the HD gets slower until it actually starts timing out. The slower the HD the faster it happens, so far I've only seen it on old 5400rpm OEM drives Apple used in their laptops (which even when they were new were slow for 5400rpm drives). Permanent fix is to replace with an SSD, temporary fix is to erase & reinstall.


The reason it's a problem on HDs is due to APFS and the b-tree extents nodes I mentioned elsewhere previously. The more those build up as files get modified, copied, etc, the worse it gets. SSDs merely hide the problem for a longer time but even they start slowing due to having to seek thousands of nodes for a single file, breaking even SSD I/O capabilities. You'd need an enterprise NVMe SSD designed for high queue depth and I/O workloads to mitigate APFS' downsides at that point. Or reinstall. And if it's data files that are causing the slowdown and timeouts, even a reinstall won't fix it because you'll likely need those data files migrated to the new OS installation.

Starting up in verbose mode would help you find out where it's stalling at. That might give you a better handle on what to do in order to remedy the situation for good. To start in verbose mode, turn on the machine and immediately hold CMD-V until you see white text start appearing on the screen, at which point you can let go of the keys. If you make it successfully to the desktop (Finder), the text is replaced with the usual graphical interface. Text is only visible during the startup process in verbose mode.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10982
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Couldn't he boot-args -v to make it always startup in verbose mode? Though I know it drives some people nuts, its my preferred method just because you never know when a boot issue will strike (and you can't travel back in time and command v). Is it still sudo nvram boot-args="-v" or did it change?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group