XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Thu Aug 06, 2020 2:10 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Was this guide good?
Yes 100%  100%  [ 3 ]
No 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Meh 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Idk 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:07 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
Hi all!

This is THE COMPLETE UNOFFICIAL 2020 GUIDE with UPDATES! on how to get the Leopard Beta Build 9A241 on your G3/G4!

*I have found all of the data for this through tons of research, Forums, Apple, and what people have told me.*

Many guides have not been updated since 06/07 since Leopard was announced.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
*This is the only current guide out there right now!*

Make sure you have 1GB of RAM. You may be turned down by the fact of the build not being “full” but trust me, it’s worth it.

Disclaimer: If something is wrong on your Mac, or you receive a virus on your Mac, I am NOT responsible!

I’ll even show you how to make this Tiger-looking beta look like The RETAIL version of Leopard, even looking like Snow Leopard!

I’m new here, please don’t hate on me!

PSST. If you have an actual DVD with this build, skip step one.


This is the complete BEGINNERS unofficial guide on how to install the first build of Leopard on an unsupported Mac, and then making that version of Leopard look like the Retail version!

Let’s get started!

Requirements:

PATIENCE.

DVD drive.

Functional Mac.

TextEdit.

Leopard RAR file.



Let’s get into the details!

PART 1:

1 First step: Download the first beta build of Leopard (9A241) at this link. https://macintoshgarden.org/apps/mac-os-x-105-leopard-beta-9a241.



It’s a RAR file. Extract it.



2 Step two: Inside the Leopard build, go to installation inside system. Then look for and then find the file named OSinstall.mpkg.



There are multiple methods to modifying the installer



Here are the steps to modify it.



Open with text edit and delete OSmodelCheck.
Next, change hwbeSupportedMachines to the model identifier of the Mac you are installing it on.
Delete the BadMachines. Ok, here are the instructions: In this line below, change the return false to return “true” to install on a G3. No quotes. Here is the large line below: var minRam = 512;
function checkSupportedMachine(machineType){
// Fail on G3
if (1 != system.sysctl('hw.vectorunit') ) {
return false;
}

var badMachines = ['MacBook3,1','iMac','PowerBook1,1','PowerBook2,1', 'AAPL,Gossamer', 'AAPL,PowerMac G3', 'AAPL,PowerBook1998', 'AAPL,PowerBook1999'];

if(machineType){
var length = badMachines.length;

// Fail if any of the compatible values match the list of badMachines
for( var j = 0; j < length; j++ ){
if(machineType == badMachines[j]){
return false;
}

}

}

// require 867Mhz+
if (system.sysctl("hw.cpufrequency") < 866000000) {
return false;
}

return true;
}
Change require 867MHZ to just below your current processor speed.
Edit the RAM to just lower than what you have in the MinRam line. Change to something like 256.
Save the document in text edit. Then exit.
You have successfully edited the installer. Make sure that you saved. Now proceed to install.

Continue reading after you’ve installed!


PART 2:
Now your computer will look like Tiger, but have (some of) the functionality of Leopard.



This shows how to make it look like Leopard.

Step 1. download:

Application Enhancer, Liger, Shape Shifter, and Clear Dock.

Liger (LeopardXTiger) will have everything. Change the icons, then the dock, and so on. The applications show what to do.. but I will add instructions soon!

I will update the rest of the guide on the Leopard-look.

*Updates are in PST. California Time.*


Need HELP?
post on this thread. I will try to help you.

Hope this works for you. Cheers!

And hope you enjoyed my guide.


Attachments:
7A3E0E93-525D-48BD-B6A6-BEA854E4C12E.png
7A3E0E93-525D-48BD-B6A6-BEA854E4C12E.png [ 34.75 KiB | Viewed 323 times ]

_________________
Macbook Pro 15” 2011 i7, No OS
Mac Pro 2006, Radeon 7870 HD, 1TB
iMac G3 DV SE 2000, 80GB HDD, Tiger
PowerBook G3 Pismo 4GB CD
Mac Mini 2011 8GB RAM, HS
Mac Mini 2010 4GB RAM
iBook G3 Snow 30GB HDD, DVD
iBook G4, 20GB HDD, DVD
MacBook Pro 2011 i5 13”, HS


Last edited by Christianreal on Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:19 am, edited 3 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:08 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17806
Excellent work, mightly impressive youngster!

Are you certain it works on G3 Macs?

Apple states the following basic Leopard system requirements, although, for some specific applications and features (such as iChat backdrops) an Intel processor is required:[60]

Processor: any Intel processor, or PowerPC G5 or G4 (867 MHz and faster) processor
Optical drive: internal or external DVD drive (for installation of the operating system)
Memory: minimum 512 MB of RAM (additional RAM (1 GB) is recommended for development purposes)
Hard drive capacity: Minimum 9 GB of disk space available.
Leopard’s retail version was not released in separate versions for each type of processor, but instead consisted of one universal release that could run on both PowerPC and Intel processors.[40] However, the install discs that ship with Intel-based Macs only contain Intel binaries.[citation needed]

Processor type and speed are checked during installation and installation halted if insufficient; however, Leopard will run on slower G4 processor machines (e.g., a 733 MHz Quicksilver) if the installation is performed on a supported Mac and its hard drive then moved to a slower/unsupported one (the drive may either be an internal mechanism or a Firewire external).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X_ ... quirements


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:07 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
BDAqua wrote:
Excellent work, mightly impressive youngster!

Are you certain it works on G3 Macs?

Apple states the following basic Leopard system requirements, although, for some specific applications and features (such as iChat backdrops) an Intel processor is required:[60]

Processor: any Intel processor, or PowerPC G5 or G4 (867 MHz and faster) processor
Optical drive: internal or external DVD drive (for installation of the operating system)
Memory: minimum 512 MB of RAM (additional RAM (1 GB) is recommended for development purposes)
Hard drive capacity: Minimum 9 GB of disk space available.
Leopard’s retail version was not released in separate versions for each type of processor, but instead consisted of one universal release that could run on both PowerPC and Intel processors.[40] However, the install discs that ship with Intel-based Macs only contain Intel binaries.[citation needed]

Processor type and speed are checked during installation and installation halted if insufficient; however, Leopard will run on slower G4 processor machines (e.g., a 733 MHz Quicksilver) if the installation is performed on a supported Mac and its hard drive then moved to a slower/unsupported one (the drive may either be an internal mechanism or a Firewire external).
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_X_ ... quirements



Yeah, it works under certain circumstances. You shouldn’t run it on a G3 slower than 500 MHZ. Make sure you have the the most RAM your G3 will let you. If you’re on an iMac G3, only works on the Summer 2000 models and newer. And thanks for that :) I appreciate it- I’ll post a picture of it running.

_________________
Macbook Pro 15” 2011 i7, No OS
Mac Pro 2006, Radeon 7870 HD, 1TB
iMac G3 DV SE 2000, 80GB HDD, Tiger
PowerBook G3 Pismo 4GB CD
Mac Mini 2011 8GB RAM, HS
Mac Mini 2010 4GB RAM
iBook G3 Snow 30GB HDD, DVD
iBook G4, 20GB HDD, DVD
MacBook Pro 2011 i5 13”, HS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:05 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17806
Thanks, you're quite a whiz... love seeing/feeling your enthusiasm! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:07 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
BDAqua wrote:
Thanks, you're quite a whiz... love seeing/feeling your enthusiasm! :D


Ha! Thanks!! :P

_________________
Macbook Pro 15” 2011 i7, No OS
Mac Pro 2006, Radeon 7870 HD, 1TB
iMac G3 DV SE 2000, 80GB HDD, Tiger
PowerBook G3 Pismo 4GB CD
Mac Mini 2011 8GB RAM, HS
Mac Mini 2010 4GB RAM
iBook G3 Snow 30GB HDD, DVD
iBook G4, 20GB HDD, DVD
MacBook Pro 2011 i5 13”, HS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11436
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Ha! I remember editing files on installer DVDs to make them work on unsupported models. Don't think I ever did it on Leopard though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:07 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Ha! I remember editing files on installer DVDs to make them work on unsupported models. Don't think I ever did it on Leopard though.


Lol! Yes, similar here.

_________________
Macbook Pro 15” 2011 i7, No OS
Mac Pro 2006, Radeon 7870 HD, 1TB
iMac G3 DV SE 2000, 80GB HDD, Tiger
PowerBook G3 Pismo 4GB CD
Mac Mini 2011 8GB RAM, HS
Mac Mini 2010 4GB RAM
iBook G3 Snow 30GB HDD, DVD
iBook G4, 20GB HDD, DVD
MacBook Pro 2011 i5 13”, HS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11436
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Last time I remember doing it was to install OS X on a lampshade iMac to override the CPU and RAM check. I cloned the installer to a FW HD, edited the files, then booted off the HD. Worked but I remember telling the guy to get some RAM because it was really beachbally. I think he did get the RAM from someplace and then sold it to someone. (sigh) I did that for you, man, not so you could foist that frankenmac off on someone.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 7:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:07 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Last time I remember doing it was to install OS X on a lampshade iMac to override the CPU and RAM check. I cloned the installer to a FW HD, edited the files, then booted off the HD. Worked but I remember telling the guy to get some RAM because it was really beachbally. I think he did get the RAM from someplace and then sold it to someone. (sigh) I did that for you, man, not so you could foist that frankenmac off on someone.


Ugh, yeah. What did you use to clone it? CCC?

_________________
Macbook Pro 15” 2011 i7, No OS
Mac Pro 2006, Radeon 7870 HD, 1TB
iMac G3 DV SE 2000, 80GB HDD, Tiger
PowerBook G3 Pismo 4GB CD
Mac Mini 2011 8GB RAM, HS
Mac Mini 2010 4GB RAM
iBook G3 Snow 30GB HDD, DVD
iBook G4, 20GB HDD, DVD
MacBook Pro 2011 i5 13”, HS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11436
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I believe so because I don't think SuperDuper was out yet or at least I didn't know about it. That's like 15 years ago so my memory of the how is fuzzy.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:07 pm
Posts: 265
Location: Laguna Beach, CA
MonkeyBoy wrote:
I believe so because I don't think SuperDuper was out yet or at least I didn't know about it. That's like 15 years ago so my memory of the how is fuzzy.

Yeah.

_________________
Macbook Pro 15” 2011 i7, No OS
Mac Pro 2006, Radeon 7870 HD, 1TB
iMac G3 DV SE 2000, 80GB HDD, Tiger
PowerBook G3 Pismo 4GB CD
Mac Mini 2011 8GB RAM, HS
Mac Mini 2010 4GB RAM
iBook G3 Snow 30GB HDD, DVD
iBook G4, 20GB HDD, DVD
MacBook Pro 2011 i5 13”, HS


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group