XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Sat Jul 11, 2020 7:41 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 8:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:08 am
Posts: 16
Subject: June 2004, 2 GHz G5 with an "off" spec video card. Original V-card was ATI RADEON 9600 XT with 128MB DDR SDRAM; THIS one is some Nvidia thing with no model # on the card. I bought the G5 used 5 yrs ago and this is what the guy sold it with, worked up until turning on a few days ago.
Symptoms: G5 powers up until hitting the blue screen attempting to paint the desktop then goes to sleep abruptly and is wake-able using any key press, runs for a few SECONDS(!) and again sleeps. Maddening.
Tried a huge list of things: SMC reset, Shift key on start(safe), removing all USB items on startup, pulling all RAM and re-inserting, disconnect power cord for over 2 min and starting, trying to start using ext. drive with same system on it(will not recognize this drive at all).

Status: I am about to give up until I noticed BDAqua's thread on Apple Support site cosmically referring to the hot air gun trick(reflowing solder) and / or using drive box kit to connect to another computer and reclaim data(New EGG KIT).

REASON for post: Any of you old timers have more details on how to use the hot air gun trick on this G5. Do I have to disassemble the entire G5 in order to get the motherboard in a position to do this? The video card is easily accessible; I could easily use the hot air gun on it first(usefuL?). What if the video signal dies, would that cause sleep mode in the same fashion? I don't believe it is the temp causing high temp; unit is at room temp and does this within seconds after startup.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2020 9:46 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17710
Welcome aboard schreib ! :welcome:

There were 3 different 2.0 GHz G5 PMs...
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/powe ... ac-g5.html

On the Video card, likely a GeForce FX 5200 Ultra...
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/powe ... orted.html

I doubt these links are still good, but...

If you're sure the RAM is good, try the Hair Dryer trick...

http://discussions.apple.com/message.js ... 7#13240047

https://discussions.apple.com/message/15223603#15223603

https://discussions.apple.com/message/15499912#15499912

https://discussions.apple.com/message/15613068#15613068

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3270112

https://discussions.apple.com/message/16053892#16053892

No power light at all...

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3692775?tstart=0

It can show on any G5, and even many other computers & electronic devices of the period.

http://www.macintouch.com/reliability/pmg5.html
 
 http://lowendmac.com/ppc/power-macintosh-g5.html

And see this last one in particular...
 
https://discussions.apple.com/message/16781690#16781690

Heat gun better...

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3916312?tstart=0

Check your PMs. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2020 12:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I don't think the heat gun trick was for sleeping, the system would freeze and/or power off.

I would try powering it on with the keyboard detached, there's a key combination that can put your system to sleep and your keyboard may be sending it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:01 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17710
Right, I think the sleeping might've been dried thermal paste issues... I was trying to fill in info from a discussion on ASC. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 7:08 am
Posts: 16
"try powering it on with the keyboard detached"
Well, I had not tried that but I switched to a 2nd keyboard with no change in symptoms. . . so, probably not that. I believe I even restarted with NOTHING on the USB bus, still nada.
thanks though. This thing is getting scrapped since I have the data using target disk mode.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 4:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Hmm, if it worked in target disk mode then it's unlikely a hardware issue, because the same issue should have kept happening. If you have an install disk around and another disk you could try doing a fresh install of Tiger or Leopard. I ended up having to do that a couple years ago. Now my system runs slower and all the various tweaks I applied over the years are gone (like defaulting to the short username when connecting to network shares) but - it's stable again.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group