XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:52 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:49 am
Posts: 3
Hi,

Following the support thread I opened on Apples Support Forum, attached is the system log from my PowerMac G5...

Attachment:
system.log.zip [60.21 KiB]
Downloaded 69 times


Thanks again for taking the time to help me with this

Cheers,
Darren


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:32 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14666
Welcome aboard Darren ! :welcome:

Will take a look asap, I'm at work now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:45 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14666
Hmmmm, 2nd to last line...

Dec 6 02:15:25 (null) mDNSResponder[37]: NOTE: Wide-Area Service Discovery disabled to avoid crashing defective DNS relay 192.168.1.254:53

Can you try booting it with modem and/or Router disabled?

If that works... in Sys Prefs>Network, turn off IPv6 & test with Modem/Router.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:49 am
Posts: 3
Hiya,

I wasn't aware I was running a modem/router!

How do I confirm either, and then how do I disable for a reboot?

Daz


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:49 am
Posts: 3
Another thing I didn't mention before...

The current version of Leopard on the Mac is 10.5.8

This was installed using a DMG file ( MacOSX-10.5.8-Leopard_PPCOnly_Restore_Image_V1.dmg ) that I grabbed from someone in another forum.

I have the original Leopard OSX install disk, but was getting SBOD when I got to the dialog screen where it asks for use name, address, etc...

So I though I would try re-blasting the internal disk and use the DMG file with 10.5.8....at least it finished the install, but now SBODs after about 5 mins or so...

Thought it best to mention that too. ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:40 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14666
Quote:
I wasn't aware I was running a modem/router!

So, no internet there???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:09 am
Posts: 468
dkukulka wrote:
Hiya,

I wasn't aware I was running a modem/router!

How do I confirm either, and then how do I disable for a reboot?

Daz


LOL - you must be, to get online! Very old Macs included a modem which would get online using dial-up/phone line. These days the modem (for broadband) is contained within a router which is typically : a flat case about the size of a small paperback with an array of lights, usually green when all is working, one or two of which will be flashing on and off when connected.

This router will usually have a power on/off button - if so, close your browser & email and turn it off.
If not, and you're connected by Ethernet (yellow cable into your Mac) - " " " " then detach cable from Mac
If not, and you're connected by WiFi, " " " " " , then go to the fan-shaped icon in your menu bar and turn Airport off.

You will then be offline.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group