XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:07 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: Burblandia
Sometime ago I purged my system of Flash. I now have a specific need foe the shockwave plugin in Firefox. I have a website that does not display a piechart unless flash is present. It has text that suggests that anyway and when you click on the text it takes you to the adobe flash download page. I downloaded it and installed, however it seemed to make no difference. I have FF version 70.01. What do I need to do to get the flash shockwave plugin to display the relevant content? And then, how easy is it to just toggle it off so it is not ever present and running in the background?

_________________
GA-EX58-UD3R Rev. 1.6 FK • Xeon x5650 • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:49 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16738
What OS version?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10982
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Go up to the 3 lines (upper right), Add-ons, then select plug-ins you should see the flash plug-in listed. Honestly I don't have it installed anymore so I don't remember how its configured, but I believe there's a way to have it always on, always off, or click to play. Using that interface to turn it off and on is the safest as the last extension I had to manage that setting broke and I gave up on Flash.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: Burblandia
BDA it’s Mojave.
MB you describe what I’m seeing but activating it has no effect. Maybe the site has just changed. Probably best to just stay ‘flash free’.

_________________
GA-EX58-UD3R Rev. 1.6 FK • Xeon x5650 • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10982
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
It's possible the mechanism they're using to detect if flash is present has been broken, either by updates to Firefox or Flash.

Oh! If you do have an extension to turn flash on and off, disable the extension. Back when I was doing that the extension actually caused sites to not see that flash was present even if the extension turned flash "on" because the extension was broken.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 10:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 570
Be sure you have installed the latest flash player (AdobeFlashPlayer_32_a_install.dmg).

It's not surprising that Firefox won't play flash. Some Versions from 45 on may or may
not play flash well. Older versions of firefox are not supported on most websites anymore
whether or not they are flash sites.

If you want to visit flash sites, use a different browser.

Vivaldi browser https://help.vivaldi.com/article/install-flash-player-for-vivaldi/

Brave Browser - will play flash out of the box (if flash is installed on osx).

Waterfox 2019.10 plays flash sites beautifully.

Safari plays flash nicely generally (I'm on Sierra, Safari 12.1.2).

Here is a nice site to test your flash:
http://bear71.nfb.ca/#/bear71

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:12 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16738
Excellent info.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10982
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
That's a good point. Chrome has Flash built-in although its getting harder and harder to make it work with websites because Google puts more roadblocks in the way because it's an Adobe product insecure POS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:47 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16738
Maybe the Non-google version of Chrome... Brave browser?

https://brave.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 570
Another much overlooked but very mature Firefox based browser is Seamonkey.

I have it installed on a High Sierra virtual Machine (parallels).
It plays flash content beautifully too (requires flash be installed on MacOS).

It does lack some html5 capabilities though as it is not based on the
latest firefox versions.

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group