XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Thu Dec 05, 2019 4:37 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 444
I need to replace an old LaCie 2Big and this caught my eye because it has Thunderbolt 3 and replacing my 2012 Mac mini server is on my list.

https://eshop.macsales.com/item/AKiTiO/3DPT3DUEIS/

But what on earth would make this not Mac compatible?

Every Thunderbolt RAID device I have encountered just appeared to the system as a generic AHCI device.

Even weirder is the firmware release notes refer to Mac stuff:
https://www.akitio.com/attachments/arti ... istory.txt


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 7:49 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16738
Whew, quite conflicting info... perhaps OSX releases after 5/23/2016 broke it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 11:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10982
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Thunderbolt is basically adding a PCIe card to your system. Apple's drivers only support a limited range of PCIe devices. I could see Apple's drivers not supporting some PCIe devices while supporting others. It may not present as an AHCI controller but instead another type of SATA or RAID controller that Apple doesn't cover in their drivers, and this company didn't feel like writing custom drivers for Apple.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 444
This company is none other than OWC.

Image

In any event Asmedia controllers are well supported in macOS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 570
No wonder they are "sold out". Nobody visiting OWC wants a high price windows
only Raid setup. :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10982
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Definitely looks like at one point it was Mac compatible and then something changed to make it no longer be that way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2019 10:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 570
Hi Monkey Boy:

Yeah, It's referred to as cheapo engineering.

A true Raid Controller like Areca doesn't give a fat rats rear
which operating system it's hooked up to.

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2019 8:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2755
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
If I had to guess, this is what caused the OS X incompatibility:

Quote:
Changed: Now uses inbox driver on Windows (if the Asmedia driver is currently installed on Windows, it must be uninstalled after updating the firmware)


If it's using a custom driver in its firmware, then odds are it won't work with any OS X setup. Unless you perhaps remove any ASMedia drivers, but that would be a very bad thing to do since those drivers also cover USB hubs as well (this device has a USB/eSATA bridge on it). Bottom line is, it appears they went custom and said "fuck OS X". And given the date of the change, it's a fairly safe bet that they gave up trying to make it work with Catalina and decided enough was enough and just ditched OS X functionality entirely.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 444
Unofficial Offical Answer: This product contains a Texas Instruments chip that isn't merely unsupported in macOS but actively disabled by macOS. If you're willing to disable SIP and manually patch the Thunderbolt kexts this device will work perfectly with macOS Sierra, High Sierra and Mojave.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 10:16 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16738
Whew, that sounds familiar with past FW/USB chips that Apple no longer wished to support.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:26 am 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 10102
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Assorted speculation and discussion about the first gen TI Thunderbolt3 chip and OS X: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=16302978

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:34 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16738
AHA, Security... was tinkering with that idea!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group