XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1121 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10372
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I always wanted to play around with an Intel NUC and Hackintosh it, but I never really found a fully working NUC Hackintosh setup. They always have large parts of the system broken.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:11 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
este.el.paz wrote:
@Hewhostacks:

Let's hope this build will be "peaceful" and "fulfilling" . . . .


Many thanks for your wishes of peace and fulfillment; my patience lately has been on the up since the last Hackintosh RE-install mostly went smoothly, and the recent from scratch Hackintosh buildup (latest 8th generation Intel schtuff) was mostly painless. It seems like I’m getting better at this every time… assuming I’m regularly building up the systems!

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:13 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
MonkeyBoy wrote:
I always wanted to play around with an Intel NUC and Hackintosh it, but I never really found a fully working NUC Hackintosh setup. They always have large parts of the system broken.


I’d often wondered about compatibility issues. They seem to be likely Hackintosh fodder seeing as their design is pretty minimalistic, and “mostly” Intel (seeing as they’re designed by Intel). Surely they’d be Mac Mini killers out of the box assuming one could install macOS onto them painlessly.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2018 4:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10372
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I think the problem is that they're almost entirely Intel. Apple uses a very wide range of hardware in their boxes and I'm not aware of them supporting the amount of Intel hardware that you'll find in a NUC.

The most recent guide I looked at had you swapping out socketed/slotted motherboard components for non-Intel parts that Apple supports, but the unsupported stuff that was soldered on was just plain broken.

OTOH you can get a NUC for under $200 so at least it could be a reasonably cheap platform to experiment with. I've even toyed with getting one to experiment with various router/firewall distributions, but for that purpose the CPU really should have a crypto module and figuring out exactly which CPU is in which NUC...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 3:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2303
eep - congrats on the nice card and thanks for benchmarking it. I don't know if you've tried the ./dnetc -bench rc5-72 option to bench all cores ? you can then manually set the best core in the performance options.

Leo - congrats on 10th place overall!

MB - did they fix the HVAC in your area?

I've moved to the east coast. The dnetc desktop survived! It is crunching away headless at ~4600Mkeys until my stuff gets here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:01 pm
Posts: 1021
mc68k wrote:
eep - congrats on the nice card and thanks for benchmarking it. I don't know if you've tried the ./dnetc -bench rc5-72 option to bench all cores ? you can then manually set the best core in the performance options.

I've moved to the east coast. The dnetc desktop survived! It is crunching away headless at ~4600Mkeys until my stuff gets here.


@mc68k:

Thanks for the thoughts . . . so far I haven't exactly "benchmarked" the card . . . I've tried a couple of dnetc runs, one time using OpenCL client, then today, because I'm CUDA eligible I Dld the CUDA 5.5 client and I ran that for 30 mins and it kicked out "11 packets" . . . it seemed to be running the unit at higher rpm . . . it felt like there was a "distortion in the force" as I was sitting close to the machine . . . if you read the beginning stats you can see that it ran on "core 0" . . . and, um, it "switched into random subspace" ??? Say what??? :coffee:

But, still seems like the "max" speed was a little more than the 1503 MKeys/sec that it shows at the beginning, I think it went up at one point to 1535 MKeys . . . average was seemingly down at 1300 MKeys . . . something like that . . . . The room was heating up and the side of the case was getting warm right about where the card plugs into the mobo?? But, I guess according to what BD is saying . . . the quad-core/nvidia card team is still "towel guy" territory . . . . <snif> <wheeze>

Code:
[Sep 10 00:02:00 UTC] Automatic processor detection found 1 processor.
[Sep 10 00:02:00 UTC] Automatic processor type detection found
                      a GeForce GTX 780 (2304 SPs) processor.
[Sep 10 00:02:00 UTC] RC5-72: using core #0 (CUDA 1-pipe 64-thd).
[Sep 10 00:02:00 UTC] Connected to us.v29.distributed.net:2064...             
[Sep 10 00:02:00 UTC] The keyserver says: "Moo from sunny Hampshire (moike)"
[Sep 10 00:02:00 UTC] Retrieved project state data from server. (cached)
[Sep 10 00:02:03 UTC] RC5-72: Retrieved stats unit 1225 of 1225 (100.00%)     
[Sep 10 00:02:03 UTC] Connection closed.
[Sep 10 00:02:03 UTC] RC5-72: Switched to random subspace 1341 (stored)
[Sep 10 00:02:03 UTC] RC5-72: Loaded D8:9DB95F6F:00000000:64*2^32
[Sep 10 00:02:03 UTC] RC5-72: 19 packets (1161.00 stats units) remain in
                      buff-in.r72
[Sep 10 00:02:03 UTC] RC5-72: 0 packets are in buff-out.r72
[Sep 10 00:02:03 UTC] 1 cruncher has been started.
.....10%.....20%.....30%.....40%.....50%.....60%.....70%.....80%.....90%....100
[Sep 10 00:05:06 UTC] RC5-72: Completed D8:9DB95F6F:00000000 (64.00 stats u ...
                      0.00:03:02.78 - [1,503,790,726 keys/s]
[Sep 10 00:05:06 UTC] RC5-72: Loaded D8:9DB95FAF:00000000:64*2^32
[Sep 10 00:05:06 UTC] RC5-72: Summary: 1 packet (64.00 stats units)
                      0.00:03:02.78 - [1,503.79 Mkeys/s]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:17 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
Although one of my “trusty” (LOL!) Hackintoshes ate shit a couple months back, I sourced a refurbed Gigabyte GA-Z97-HD3 motherboard from an outfit in China (Empowerlaptop.com) for $80.00 or so last month, and was able to get it back up and running. Today I took receipt of an affordable used (previous owner used it for “Eutherim mining”) Sapphire Radeon 580 4GB model for only $134 plus shipping. Plugged it into the Hackintosh alongside it’s new best friend, an XFX Radeon 580 4GB model (also from eBay, I think I paid $175 for it). As you can see from the screenshots, it’s working out just fine. Look at those amaze-balls Mkeys/sec! Once I am confident with the reliability factor of said Hackintosh I want to use it for my main machine; usage will consist of interwebs browsing, light gaming (I don’t think I’ll do anything heavier than Deus Ex or the GRID Racing series), and Photoshop/Premiere/Animate/After Effects… wherein I shall assume it will KICK ASS in Adobe CC tasks with all that GPU power.
Image
Image
Image

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:31 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 15556
Whew, impessive keyrate Leo! :o :coffee: :g3:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:11 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
BDAqua wrote:
Whew, impessive keyrate Leo! :o :coffee: :g3:


Thanks. It was sheer dumb luck, as nowhere have I read about multiple GPUs being supported in a Hackintosh in macOS, rather, I hastily set about this “mod” after a couple of beers this afternoon. I can only guess now that a four-slot full-speed PCIe motherboard would effectively support four Radeon 580s (with an appropriate powersupply of course) with full Metal and general OS support in High Sierra (and hopefully beyond). Next stop is to do a proper benchmark using a modern benchmarking tool (film at eleven; you know the drill – Moscow in flames, missiles headed for New York).

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:47 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 15556
Thanks, anxious to see the benchmarks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10372
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Depending on the exact make/model of the GPUs, four GPUs in a tower could create flames on its own.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
BDAqua wrote:
Thanks, anxious to see the benchmarks.


So here’s the OpenGL marks (not sure if it’s acknowledging the #2 Radeon 580 card):
Image

And here is the not-terribly-interesting CPU benchmarks (the core i7 machine is in my bedroom hooked up to a 43" 4K display for watching movies on, this machine is just a mere core i5):
Image

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:26 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 15556
Thanks Leo.:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:26 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
mc68k wrote:
I've moved to the east coast. The dnetc desktop survived! It is crunching away headless at ~4600Mkeys until my stuff gets here.


Whoa whoa whoa what? How come I didn’t see this post before? Congrats (I guess), the liquor stores are open on Sundays. :lol: Job move or what?

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 12:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10372
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Hopefully he didn't move into a dry county.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:12 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 15556
Quote:
The dnetc desktop survived! It is crunching away headless at ~4600Mkeys until my stuff gets here.

Whew, is that one crd? If so I think that is the highest I've seen, what card/OS is it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:36 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
Did a Cinebench benchmark on the Hawkeentouche in my bedroom last night. Surprised to see the OpenGL results higher than the dual Radeon 580 setup; only difference is this model has 8GB instead of 4GB, and the CPU is a power-hungry beast:
Image

CPU results no shocker here:
Image

Other than the 4GB/8GB difference, can anyone else help me understand the higher OpenGL scores on the single Radeon 580 system?

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10372
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Crossfire/SLI, assuming it is enabling crossfire, has an overhead even if its using a single GPU. By removing Crossfire/SLI you may improve performance on a project that only uses a single GPU. This holds true in Windows, which is why I haven't played around with SLI since the days of Voodoo2 (which did SLI different than current SLI/Crossfire).

Then again with a difference that small it might be within the range of statistical possibilities (or whatever its called), meaning you run it a few dozen more times you may end up with similar numbers from a dual setup.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:14 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Crossfire/SLI, assuming it is enabling crossfire, has an overhead even if its using a single GPU. By removing Crossfire/SLI you may improve performance on a project that only uses a single GPU. This holds true in Windows, which is why I haven't played around with SLI since the days of Voodoo2 (which did SLI different than current SLI/Crossfire).

Then again with a difference that small it might be within the range of statistical possibilities (or whatever its called), meaning you run it a few dozen more times you may end up with similar numbers from a dual setup.


On the macOS side, I honestly have no idea how to enable/disable Crossfire, seeing as there is no physical cable connecting the two cards together. Any hints you may have are greatly appreciated.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:25 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 15556
Quote:
To access the global setting for AMD CrossFire follow the steps below:
Launch AMD Radeon Settings and select the Gaming tab.
Click on Global Settings and the screen below should appear providing the AMD Crossfire and AMD CrossFire Logo options.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2303
BDAqua wrote:
Whew, is that one crd? If so I think that is the highest I've seen, what card/OS is it?
It is one card a XFX R9 390. It's overlooked to 1145Mhz on a Corsair H60 and a couple push pull fans. It's running in Ubuntu Mint with the 4.9 kernel.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2303
Leopold Porkstacker wrote:
Whoa whoa whoa what? How come I didn’t see this post before? Congrats (I guess), the liquor stores are open on Sundays. :lol: Job move or what?
Yeah my fiancé and our dog max drove across Wyoming, Nebraska, Iowa, Indiana, Illinois, Ohio and finally arrived in PA. It was a job move for both of us. I work for a local Apple MSP now and she works for a university. Lots of rain here!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:03 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
BDAqua wrote:
Quote:
To access the global setting for AMD CrossFire follow the steps below:
Launch AMD Radeon Settings and select the Gaming tab.
Click on Global Settings and the screen below should appear providing the AMD Crossfire and AMD CrossFire Logo options.


Umm so I don’t see that AMD Radeon Settings.APP anywhere in macOS. Care to throw me a hint?

Thanks

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:04 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4400
Location: Uranus
mc68k wrote:
Leopold Porkstacker wrote:
Whoa whoa whoa what? How come I didn’t see this post before? Congrats (I guess), the liquor stores are open on Sundays. :lol: Job move or what?
Yeah my fiancé and our dog max drove across Wyoming, Nebraska, Iowa, Indiana, Illinois, Ohio and finally arrived in PA. It was a job move for both of us. I work for a local Apple MSP now and she works for a university. Lots of rain here!


Dude. Awesome-balls to hear that it’s a win-win for you both. Yeah, the rain I hear sucks but surely there will be a silver lining somewhere.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Salsa Juan Solo, Gary Fisher Rig, Surly Instigator, Surly Troll, Ahrens Slalom, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:01 pm
Posts: 1021
mc68k wrote:
Lots of rain here!


@mc68k:

I'm from PA many years back by now . . . yep, rain country . . . give it a month or so for the ice to show . . . maybe snow . . . then warm . . . then black ice . . . .

But, at least it has "4 seasons" . . . .

eep


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1121 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group