XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:04 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 941 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 34, 35, 36, 37, 38
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 10:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9354
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Well, its on Windows, so I use Scheduled Tasks. On OS X I would probably use launchd with a custom plist.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 6:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:01 pm
Posts: 810
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Well, its on Windows, so I use Scheduled Tasks. On OS X I would probably use launchd with a custom plist.


@MB:

Thanks for the conversation; other fish to fry at this point . . . now that I know "pilot error" is involved I can try to correct the behavior in some manner.

e.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 3:53 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4243
Location: Uranus
It would appear as though my Radeon R9 290x has issues now. It took down one computer, so I put in in the other; loud pop on startup attempt. Took out graphics card. Put in Radeon HD 5870; computer boots fine. Is the card fried perhaps?

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 5:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9354
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I wonder if its a capacitor issue.

Only other thing I can think of is whether the 2nd system had a large enough PSU to handle the 290. Trying to hook up a GPU to a too-small PSU can result in that same situation.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2017 2:13 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4243
Location: Uranus
I had it running for about a year without any issues. Then one day the issues came about. :bonk:

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 2:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9354
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
If you don't mind peeling off the HSF you could visually inspect the card for damaged components. Sometimes when a cap blows it will make an audible pop sound.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9354
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
You know, you should be able to get slightly better performance for less power out of an RX 580. They're around $230-$250 for an 8GB card but 4GB cards start at under $200. dnetc won't care about the difference, so long as the memory and GPU clocks are the same. Some 4GB cards are underclocked though since they're lower bin parts, but some 4GB cards are the same speed with 4GB locked out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 4:49 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14534
100 days worth from my eMac/1.42 yesterday... 30 K. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 7:00 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Texas
BDAqua wrote:
100 days worth from my eMac/1.42 yesterday... 30 K. :)

Awesome!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2017 5:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2251
BDAqua wrote:
100 days worth from my eMac/1.42 yesterday... 30 K. :)
Very cool BD!!!!! :emphatic-eek:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:02 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4243
Location: Uranus
Great to see the G4s still crunching in the name of… crunch! :roll: :cube: :g4: :badteeth:

I’d spent a great deal of time and money between 2002 - 2013 trying to keep my G4s cool and with proper airflow but had too many headaches trying to keep them from frying. I guess the lesson learned here is to not overclock/overvolt too much.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:01 pm
Posts: 810
Dang me . . . I did it again . . . started out with the existing Buff-In file that had a few stats on it and ran the MP for 4 or 5 hours until it got to the point where it was supposed to flush 180 stats or so . . . flushed them . . . days later no stats showing up since May . . . . I was hoping that some of them would make it, but it seems like all of them are "tainted" . . . and a big fat nothing burger shows up for the Towel Guy . . . . :bonk: :whip: :coffee:

Most of my life lessons have been done the hard way . . . hate burning the generator to run the computer for that length of time . . . por nada . . . . Got the message on the trashing of the Buff-In file . . . .

e.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9354
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
The problem with old buffers is others may work on them in the meantime, which invalidates your work. They also seem to invalidate checked out blocks after a time as well, probably to discourage the widespread cheating problem that dnetc has always had.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:01 pm
Posts: 810
MonkeyBoy wrote:
The problem with old buffers is others may work on them in the meantime, which invalidates your work. They also seem to invalidate checked out blocks after a time as well, probably to discourage the widespread cheating problem that dnetc has always had.


Yes . . . I am feeling the invalidation . . . it's very **invalidating** . . . . :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 3:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2251
here's a way to automate the buffer fetching and flushing with crontab. this works on os x and linux.

Open Terminal. edit your crontab. by default, it will open in vim
Code:
crontab -e

to open with an easier editor, like nano, use command this instead
Code:
EDITOR=nano crontab -e

the first 2 lines tell it every 20 minutes to fetch and flush buffers. this will work even with dnetc already running. the last line tells it to flush the last minute you can to count for stats each day. in my MST timezone during daylight savings time is 5:59PM. change the path to where your executable lives. paste it in.
Code:
*/20 *  *   *   *     /Volumes/Caviar2TB/downloads/dnetc521-macosx-amd64/dnetc -flush > /dev/null 2>&1
*/20 *  *   *   *     /Volumes/Caviar2TB/downloads/dnetc521-macosx-amd64/dnetc -fetch > /dev/null 2>&1
59 17 *   *   *     /Volumes/Caviar2TB/downloads/dnetc521-macosx-amd64/dnetc -flush > /dev/null 2>&1

Save the crontab by saving and leaving your editor. When you exit it will say crontab: installing new crontab or crontab: no changes made to crontab if you didn't save.
To make your own crontab use this site: https://crontab-generator.org/

Check if it's working. Do a ls -la command.
Before:
Code:
drwxr-xr-x@ 3 mc68k  staff      272 Aug  8 16:13 .
drwxr-xr-x  7 mc68k  staff    13260 Aug  7 16:59 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 mc68k  staff     8128 Aug  8 16:13 buff-in.r72
-rw-r--r--  1 mc68k  staff      384 Aug  8 16:13 buff-out.r72
-rwxr-xr-x@ 1 mc68k  staff  1372736 Feb  3  2016 dnetc
-rw-r--r--@ 1 mc68k  staff     8691 Feb  3  2016 dnetc.1
-rw-r--r--  1 mc68k  staff      143 Mar 20 17:45 dnetc.ini
drwxr-xr-x@ 2 mc68k  staff      170 Feb  3  2016 docs

After the a unit has completed and the crontab has run. Notice buff-out got flushed and got smaller and buff-in fetched and got bigger.
Code:
drwxr-xr-x@ 3 mc68k  staff      272 Aug  8 16:13 .
drwxr-xr-x  7 mc68k  staff    13260 Aug  7 16:59 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 mc68k  staff     8480 Aug  8 16:14 buff-in.r72
-rw-r--r--  1 mc68k  staff       32 Aug  8 16:14 buff-out.r72
-rwxr-xr-x@ 1 mc68k  staff  1372736 Feb  3  2016 dnetc
-rw-r--r--@ 1 mc68k  staff     8691 Feb  3  2016 dnetc.1
-rw-r--r--  1 mc68k  staff      143 Mar 20 17:45 dnetc.ini
drwxr-xr-x@ 2 mc68k  staff      170 Feb  3  2016 docs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:01 pm
Posts: 810
@mc68k:

Thanks for this post, when I get a free moment I'll try to fiddle with it. Personally it's easier if I don't need to run the computer 4 or five hours straight before getting to a flush . . . .

e.e.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 941 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 34, 35, 36, 37, 38

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group