XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 7:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:03 pm
Posts: 4364
Location: Rain forest washington state
Using the iPhone 7 Plus to play World War Hero’s a first person shooter. Taking video with the phone playing the game but it plays back in portrait mode even though I am playing in landscape view. Now on the phone I can just turn the phone on the side and view it in landscape. But when i send it over to the iMac to edit in iMovie it loads in portrait mode and nothing I can do about it. Any ideas how to get around this ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:47 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10019
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
You need to rotate the video from portrait to landscape for the video to run in landscape mode.

iOS:
https://9to5mac.com/2016/07/24/how-to-f ... rait-mode/

macOS:
https://support.apple.com/kb/PH22922?vi ... cale=en_US


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 11:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:03 pm
Posts: 4364
Location: Rain forest washington state
I did but it was still messed up. Maybe I need to try again my iPhone was being cranky


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:33 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10019
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
When all else fails, try to reboot. I just "fixed" a DVR this morning by rebooting it. But to be fair it had been up for 9 months.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2541
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
MonkeyBoy wrote:
When all else fails, try to reboot. I just "fixed" a DVR this morning by rebooting it. But to be fair it had been up for 9 months.


Well duh, DVRs are just computers that run an OS hidden by GUI elements. Even automobiles' embedded systems sometimes need rebooting (i.e. disconnecting the battery and forcing a cold start reset - data used by the system is in NVRAM anyway).

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:37 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10019
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
In all fairness it's an old series 2 Tivo that typically can run for 2-3 years without a reboot, but I'm pretty sure the HD is finally starting to kick the bucket. Good thing I have a prepped spare on the shelf.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group