XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Router woes
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1165
Location: Burblandia
I can NOT connect to my TP Link Archer C2600 ip address to make administrative modifications. Here is what is still working:

I can get to any site on the inter/webs no problem.
I can connect to my router administration software via my iphone (limited features).

What I can NOT do is connect using a browser to the 192.168.0.1 ip address. It never gets to the login screen. Just keeps 'searching'.

I did it fine several times this past week but suddenly it just fails to connect. It shows insecure connection on Firefox. I tried a new profile and both Safari & Chrome with no success.

I've restarted, disconnected done all the things to which I've become accustomed when these kind of glitches happen and still can't connect to router using a browser.

I called TP link and a nice woman with a strong accent emailed what she insisted are the precise instructions needed to accomplish this. The instruction began with "login to your router by connecting to 192.168.0.1".

Not sure where to go from here.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router woes
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:02 am 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9968
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Have you tried typing https versus http?

Are you certain you're trying from within it's 192.168.0.x network and that 192.168.0.1 is its IP address?

You might be able to inspect the page as you reload it and see if there's any data being transferred. In Chrome or Firefox, right-click the page, choose "inspect" then click the "Network" tab of the inspector and see if there's any traffic being logged. Also in the web inspector, look in the console for Javascript errors.

Finally, you could try rebooting the router (pull the power) then when it boots, immediately try logging in.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Router woes
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1165
Location: Burblandia
Anonymous wrote:
Have you tried typing https versus http?

Are you certain you're trying from within it's 192.168.0.x network and that 192.168.0.1 is its IP address?

You might be able to inspect the page as you reload it and see if there's any data being transferred. In Chrome or Firefox, right-click the page, choose "inspect" then click the "Network" tab of the inspector and see if there's any traffic being logged. Also in the web inspector, look in the console for Javascript errors.

Finally, you could try rebooting the router (pull the power) then when it boots, immediately try logging in.

- Anonymous

It is working again. I didn't knowingly do anything different & I didn't get a chance to try any of your suggestions Anon. It just started working again. It will remain another small networking mystery. Thanks for taking time to offer some suggestions. I appreciate it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group