XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Sat Jul 11, 2020 1:25 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:41 am
Posts: 973
Location: Halfway between New York City and Atlantic City
I'm about to add an SSD to my Mac mini's USB bus. Advice from the manufacturer was to optimally plug it directly into one of the mini's four USB ports. I'd also received a similar recommendation for my audio interface. With the two remaining ports, I'm in the process of deciding how my other USB devices* will be connected (two powered hubs have been accommodating some of them).

The SSD will become my primary audio work drive. Audio 1 (which used to be the primary) will move to the Firewire bus, in the chain after my Time Machine drive and prior to Audio 2 which, with Audio 1, will now be backup drives.

I don't even know if it's necessary that I understand this, but it is confusing: the mini has four USB 3 ports. But System Profiler shows something that I believe is different (somehow:
Attachment:
Screen Shot 2020-06-27 at 11.13.15 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-06-27 at 11.13.15 AM.png [ 81.64 KiB | Viewed 148 times ]

Why does it show only three USB entries, and why do two of them show as USB 2.0 instead of 3.0?

Things get REALLY confusing for me when I expand each entry (but everything's working just fine, so I'm good with it):
Attachment:
Screen Shot 2020-06-27 at 11.36.55 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-06-27 at 11.36.55 AM.png [ 93.43 KiB | Viewed 148 times ]

*My other USB devices:
– Mac mini & MacBook bootable clones (both on a single drive, which remains powered off until needed)
– Archive drive (remains powered off until needed)
– Keyboard/Mouse
– iPad
– Back/UPS interface
– SanDisk Music Player charging cable
– iLok for Waves audio plugins
– eLicenser for Steinberg WaveLab Pro

As all of these things are already plugged into the two powered hubs, I don't anticipate anything changing in the way of performance. But, if you have any ideas, recommendations, etc., I'd love to hear them.

_________________
_____________________
MacMini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.12.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:43 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
As I understand it Bluetooth, Wifi, & IR are fed off an internal USB Hub with no external ports.

I'm wondering if that last USB2 listing might be limiting to USB2 due to connected devices being USB1 or USB2?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:41 am
Posts: 973
Location: Halfway between New York City and Atlantic City
Aha... that might be it. I can't be sure which version USB the devices plugged into the hubs might be.

But, as I said, everything's working fine, so I won't look for issues where there are none. :)

_________________
_____________________
MacMini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.12.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:48 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
OK, I'm pretty sure Mice & KBs are USB1... unless maybe you can type more than 100,000 words per minute


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2020 10:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
USB 3.0 hosts create a virtual USB 2.0 hub for all USB 2.0 devices connected to it.

In other words, it all looks normal to me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:11 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17708
Thanks MB. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 10:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
That confused me the first time I plugged a USB 2 something into USB 3. Does it on Windows too. I think I've seen it use the same virtual USB hub for devices plugged into different USB 3 controllers.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:41 am
Posts: 973
Location: Halfway between New York City and Atlantic City
Thanks for clearing that up for me, BD and MB.

To veer off to a different thread for a moment, I learned last night that the furiously blinking activity lights on the two drives on my Firewire bus takes place NOT when I put the computer to sleep, but shortly after I log out of my user (Admin) account. So, I thought I'd solve that by just not logging out and letting the computer sleep. But that (which will now require veering off to yet another thread) caused my Water Break app to stop working. Thus, to keep everything happy, when I retire later tonight, I'll remain logged in and just put my display to sleep.

What a trip.

_________________
_____________________
MacMini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.12.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Thats interesting. I wonder if Spotlight isn't maintaining its list of volumes to exclude.

I think there's a file you can create in the root of a HD to exclude it from indexing. I just don't remember its name.

There's also a command line tool to configure indexing that, when run with sudo, would apply to root (I think login runs under root or a root equivalent). Uh. Yeah can't remember its name either. Sorry couldn't sleep last night so I'm foggy.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 9:41 am
Posts: 973
Location: Halfway between New York City and Atlantic City
Thanks, MB. I had begun an edit on my last post but got sidetracked and never actually posted it. There's a new twist. See the last post in this (the Firewire/blinking lights) thread and see what you think about that:

https://x704.net/bbs/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=8948

Something I remember reading somewhere is, allegedly, that even if I add a Time Machine drive to Spotlight's exclusion list, OS X will ignore it and index the drive anyway. But read the post above.

_________________
_____________________
MacMini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.12.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Well, in my experience on Leopard (10.5) that was at least partially true, but that was the first Time Machine implementation so its really quirky. I was able to exclude it using the command line utility (I may have also forcibly unloaded spotlight too) but then time machine stopped backing up. I think its mdutil but not in OS X so can't say for sure. sudo mdutil -i off /Volumes/VolumeNameHere (or /Volumes/Volume\ Name\ Here or "/Volumes/Volume Name Here") seems to be what Google is telling me. You can disable spotlight across all volumes with sudo mdutil -a -i off (-a is all volumes)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group