XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 2808
Location: home
Installed Western Digital WD 512GB Black PCIe SSD M.2 2280 NVMe to AsRock Taichi Z270 motherboard today. Windows worked fine, Ubuntu 18.04 did not want to start, gave odd ATA bus errors. Long story short, WD 512GB NVMe does now want to exist with Asus made DVD drive. At least I finally got to change all the SATA data cables to the new ones I bought over an year ago. :whip: No help of course, but disconnecting the DVD cable helped. All the SATA headers are under the 1070 card, so this and installing Ubuntu to the new disk + moving data after a work day. 3 AM and coast is clear. :bonk:

_________________
Escaping Special Character


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 3:01 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16700
Whew, excellent work though. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10962
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Interesting. On my Z97 board two of the chipset SATA ports are on a SATA Express connector, but you can either use M.2 or SATA Express, not both, and when SATA Express gets disabled it disables those 2 SATA ports.

As an added bonus when running in UEFI mode the asmedia SATA controller, which they use to add the 2 SATA ports lost to SATA Express, are not selectable as a bootable device until after you install Windows on it, and then it shows up as a hinky Windows Boot Loader entry in the boot menu that seems to come and go at random. When running in CSM mode all ports with media attached are listed.

Gotta love Intel nickle and diming PCIe channels.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2748
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
Miero, what is your EHCI/XHCI handoff set to? There are three settings usually: Disabled, Auto/Enabled, Smart Auto/Smart Enabled. You don't want the last one. You want the second one.

Also, exactly what ports are all of the drives connected to? This makes a very significant difference because if your optical drive is connected to one of the ports that is disabled by using an NVMe drive, then you're going to get the conflicts you see. If the NVMe drive is your boot drive, you want it occupying the M.2 slot that corresponds to SATA0/1, and you want the optical drive on the SATA3 port.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 10:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 2808
Location: home
This EHCI/XHCI stuff is listed as USB related, why is it relevant here? Tried it though, no help for this issue. My motherboard manual has 'M2_1, SATA3_0 and SATA3_1 share lanes', so I left SATA3_0 and SATA3_1 empty, as the NVMe sits in M2_1. All disks worked with Windows, just not with Ubuntu. There were some suggestions to adjust some UEFI/AHCI value or something like that, but I could not locate it from my motherboard settings. I have not been keeping myself up to date with motherboards since BIOS went away.

By the way, updating the NVMe drivers in Windows made it possible for Ubuntu to proceed a bit longer with the loading of NVMe stuff during the startup, but it still stopped to this part. And call me crazy, but I could not boot to Ubuntu install USB after I had installed the NVMe. I mean even if I removed the NVMe, I'm quite baffled. Ghost in the machine stuff. No idea what has changed here. Oh well, I haven't actually never used that DVD drive, just bought it a couple of years ago, since the old one stopped writing.

_________________
Escaping Special Character


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 4:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10962
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I've had really good luck building USB media using Rufus in Windows, I just point Rufus at an ISO and a flash drive and the result is happiness. Occasionally the USB media gets corrupted and I rebuild it but that's pretty rare.

I notice they added additional support for NVMe volumes in 18.04.1 which was just released today. So maybe try again with the latest ISO?

Of course the only reason I noticed is because I just tried to upgrade my 16.04 LTS and it told me no new release was found, which led me to poking around to figure out if 18.04.1 was released yesterday on schedule or not (I guess not?).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 2808
Location: home
About the DVD drive thing, I recalled one day after the incident from my previous experience, that the first 6 SATA slots are usually from the Southbridge, and the next one is from a separate raid chip, that does not support DVD. Silly me. No mention about that in the short manual though. Anyway, took only 5 months to swap the sata cables, so that the DVD is connected to the Southbridge. Of course it now works. And next to the main issue, and the reason, why I bothered to remove two 3 slot 1070 cards to be able to see the sata headers.

Asrock has bothered me about three times with an automatic UEFI update during startup, without asking me anything. Seems they all failed. I then upgraded the UEFI myself with their windows application, to get rid of the waste of time of these automatic update failures. Update worked, I have the latest one in the UEFI settings, but this produces a new problem. The computer won't shutdown, nor goes to sleep anymore. I have to push the power button long time each time shutting the computer. Provided manual is worthless, tech support does not reply. Any idea what to try to get the shutdown and sleep working? Stripping the video cards and disks from the setup did not help. This is dual boot Win/Ubuntu, worked fine before this forced 'upgrade'. The Asrock Taichi Z270 has some sort of dual UEFI/BIOS memory in case of something goes wrong during the update, which is anyway properly done in stages with backups. Motherboard has options like Enable C3/6/7 sleep state, Deep Sleep, CFG Lock, but I have not managed to get it to work as before. The Manuals has 'the LED keeps blinking when the system is in S1/S3 sleep state', which it used to do. Help me! :bonk: :? :)

Edit: If someone has too much time on her/his hands, here is the manual. I am tired, shopping with my wife and 96.8°F

https://www.asrock.com/MB/Intel/Z270%20 ... asp#Manual

_________________
Escaping Special Character


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10962
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Ever since ASRock and ASUS parted ways I've heard of nothing but problems with ASRock.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 2808
Location: home
Thanks to my chronic insomnia since I was 2 years old, I have finally managed to conquest this dragon, with the help of less than 6 beers. The AssRock upgrade help files clearly state, that this upgrade has to be done with using their boot time/bios upgrade tool, using a preloaded and separately saved downloaded version of the latest BIOS file. Too bad, that this data is quite well hidden. Latest BIOS file by automatic download of upgrade by BIOS updater from net = Fail, windows update program with upgrade file = Fail, and so on. I would most humbly state, that fuck the ASSRock/AKA 'diverticular disease' manuals, how in hell can they fuck up revealing this information with the upgrade?

Yeah, I know why, since the current policy is to produce as cheap crap as possible, but this has truly reached the outer limits by now. Thanks gods and myself, that I chose to work as a freelancer after moving to Thailand. At least I have now the opportunity to choose, when to procure shit for sale.

But, finally all is well again in this rice pad! :D

_________________
Escaping Special Character


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:50 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16700
Whew... good work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10962
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Yeah I've decided that I will never ever upgrade a EFI/BIOS again except from dedicated bootable media. My system at work is dead because it froze in the middle of writing to the SMC flash.

That being said I'm seriously considering downgrading my motherboard at home due to quirks introduced by their meltdown/spectre patches.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2748
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
If you're lucky enough to have a dual BIOS motherboard in your work system, you can switch to the backup BIOS and reflash the original BIOS. Most motherboards have dual BIOS nowadays specifically for this purpose (and for OCers too).

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10962
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
It's an older Lenovo i7/4770 prebuilt so no dice. I'm pretty sure though even with a dual BIOS if you nuke the SMC you're still trashed, because there's only one SMC. It didn't get to updating the BIOS/EFI, it froze before it got there.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group