XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:53 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4254
Location: Uranus
Computer:

2008 Mac Pro dual dual-core 3.2GHz, 12GB RAM, Mac-flashed Radeon HD5870, few internal drives.

OS: Windoze 7 Professional via a Bootcamp partition, which up until earlier today was working just fine. :roll:

Problem: no longer able to log in. When I get to the login screen and enter my password, it says something along the lines of not being able to load the user profile, leaving only an option to shut down or restart. Attempting to “repair” via the Windoze 7 Professional installer DVD is worthless, it cannot figure out how to “fix” the problem.

Only thing I use the Bootcamp partition for is a handful of 3D shootemup game, and the RC5-72 dnetc stream client. Yep, nothing harmful like surfing the web.

Any ideas? Last time I had a problem with a Bootcamp install of Windoze 7 Professional, I decided to just manually back up various folders and stuff via OSX onto another drive, and then nuke-and-repave :whip: via the Bootcamp Installer in OSX.

thanks

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:01 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14574
Once you get it up, make sure you keep a spare admin account on it...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947215

http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windo ... s-7-vista/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9442
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Write down (or take a picture of) the exact error message. I may have some ideas but there are a lot of different Windows errors. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:25 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4254
Location: Uranus
Thanks guys, I’ll give that a shot.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:18 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4254
Location: Uranus
BDAqua wrote:
Once you get it up, make sure you keep a spare admin account on it...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947215


Right on the money! That did it! Thanks!!!

But, why it got to that point is unknown. This is the second time I’ve had this happen (first time around was on one of my two Hackintoshes). No funny business going on with these computers, just simple 3D shootemup games and dnetc GPU stream.

Thanks!

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:30 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14574
Great to hear Leo, thanks for the report. :)

Doesn't help for gaming, but in years I haven't seen this in Parallels/Win 7 Ultimate, which makes suspect App;e's Bootcamp.

Which method worked?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9442
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Are you using any AV program? They can maintain locks on both files and registry, and could cause this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 1128
Location: Seattle, WA
I had a problem where Win7 wouldn't load. Tracking down the error, and finding the solution wasn't too bad. The solution was to boot from the Win7 disc and repair the drive/Windows until it was repaired. I think I had to 'repair' it five times.

SC

_________________
Grumpy old man of Computing. Get off my CPU!

Desktop: Intel mini: 2.33 GHz i5 (G4/C2D minis are out with bad HDDs) OS X 10.10
qBOX-SF with four 2 TB
Peecee - Core i7 4771 W7 Pro 64
Server - Xeon 1231 FreeNAS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:08 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4254
Location: Uranus
BDAqua wrote:
Great to hear Leo, thanks for the report. :)

Doesn't help for gaming, but in years I haven't seen this in Parallels/Win 7 Ultimate, which makes suspect App;e's Bootcamp.

Which method worked?


Booting into safe mode and manually renaming the .bak and .ba files, setting the parameters to zero, rebooting.

MonkeyBoy wrote:
Are you using any AV program? They can maintain locks on both files and registry, and could cause this.


AVG… but the Hackintosh that had this same problem wasn’t running any antivirus software.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:45 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14574
Thanks Leo. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 8:42 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4254
Location: Uranus
BDAqua wrote:
Thanks Leo. :)


No, thank you!!!

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9442
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Leopold Porkstacker wrote:
AVG… but the Hackintosh that had this same problem wasn’t running any antivirus software.
Yeah, but that was XP, and a lot of software on XP can maintain locks that cause registry corruption. It's so prevalent that Microsoft even wrote a tool to stop it from happening, that forces the registry to be unloaded prior to the system rebooting.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group