XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:22 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:22 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4277
Location: Uranus
So. Hackintosh. Works great on a “normal” monitor (have been using a 22" Apple Cinema Display with DVI adaptor for a while now without any problems), in both Windoze 8.1 and El Capitan, the graphics card is a Radeon HD 7970. Got a deal on an LG 2560x1080 Ultrawide HDMI display. It boots/works flawlessly in El Capitan and supports the resolution natively, but holding down F12 for boot menu in attempt to boot via the Windoze partition, it’s as if the computer’s HD isn’t even working. Disconnect LG display, reboot holding down F12, I am able to see the boot selection screen and boot back into Windoze 8.1.

Here’s the interesting part: I tried the Ultrawide monitor before installing from the LG-provided driver installation CDROM, and after installing from the CDROM, and I still am seeing the same issue. The same monitor works perfectly on one of the non-Hackintosh PCs I built (also running Windoze 8.1, I installed LG INF installer before hooking up Ultrawide monitor), no issues at all.

Any Hackintosh experts here with a solution? Would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!!

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9628
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I would guess that the LG display doesn't support the low resolution used by the boot selection screen. The computer is outputting to the screen, the LG is just refusing to show it because its a resolution it doesn't support.

You should be able to hot-swap monitors assuming they're both connected over DVI. Hell, you should be able to have both connected at the same time, assuming you have two DVI or one DVI and one HDMI port. Just plug the LG in after Windows is loaded.

The ultra-widescreen displays seem really gimmicky to me (much like the curved displays) and a lack of adequate resolution support would totally not surprise me. When you're moving so few units, corners get cut to maximize profits.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:50 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4277
Location: Uranus
I’m pretty sure it’s failing to get to the F12 BIOS screen… I know it’s two down arrows and then ENTER to boot from the Windoze partition, but it’s simply not responding.

That would be a pain in the ass if I have to have two monitors hooked up to the thing. I might try that if I should have nothing better to do; working 10.5 hour days split between two jobs really sucks ass and demotivates from from all this computer silliness.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2429
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
What's the model# of the LG UW display? The problem is most likely that the BIOS won't react with the monitor in its core (menu/BIOS) modes because 21:9 doesn't fall into any of the standard VESA timings (it's an aspect ratio the BIOS doesn't know how to deal with). But I'd need info on the display to help further.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9628
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
You could go into the BIOS (nee UEFI) and change the Windows partition to be the default selection, so it boots that by default. Just to see if it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:59 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4277
Location: Uranus
The LG Ultrawide monitor is model# 29UM59A.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2429
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
I'm going over the manual now trying to figure this out. What motherboard, firmware, and connection method are you using for the display? All of those are going to have an impact on how the GPU handles the monitor at bootup.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:54 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4277
Location: Uranus
Ahh yes… the details… I need to look into it and get back to you. Connection method is the HDMI out of the back of the Radeon 7970 (HDMI port straight to HDMI input on back of monitor).

Thanks

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:41 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4277
Location: Uranus
In the meantime, the 2TB HD that had the Hackintosh dual boot on it took a crap. As in, the drive died, unusable. So, I redid the dual-boot Hackintosh OS (10.10.x and 8.1) and haven’t had much time to do much else. Someday I might be able to tinker around with it more.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 2:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2429
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
I use separate SSDs for Windows and OS X. That way Windows boot manager isn't fucked over in any way and clover isn't screwed in any way. Default in BIOS is set to boot clover, so if I want Windows I just use F12 for the one-time boot menu and select "Windows boot manager". Best of both worlds and if one dies, the other isn't taken down with it.

Also, a clone of your OS X partition WITH the clover in its EFI is a must. Because, headaches.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:15 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4277
Location: Uranus
Squishy Tia wrote:
I use separate SSDs for Windows and OS X. That way Windows boot manager isn't fucked over in any way and clover isn't screwed in any way. Default in BIOS is set to boot clover, so if I want Windows I just use F12 for the one-time boot menu and select "Windows boot manager". Best of both worlds and if one dies, the other isn't taken down with it.

Also, a clone of your OS X partition WITH the clover in its EFI is a must. Because, headaches.


I tell ya, if you have time, a step-by-step tutorial would be appreciated.

Thanks!

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2429
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
Leopold Porkstacker wrote:
Squishy Tia wrote:
I use separate SSDs for Windows and OS X. That way Windows boot manager isn't fucked over in any way and clover isn't screwed in any way. Default in BIOS is set to boot clover, so if I want Windows I just use F12 for the one-time boot menu and select "Windows boot manager". Best of both worlds and if one dies, the other isn't taken down with it.

Also, a clone of your OS X partition WITH the clover in its EFI is a must. Because, headaches.


I tell ya, if you have time, a step-by-step tutorial would be appreciated.

Thanks!

-he who stacks pork


Assuming you keep regular backups, it'd probably just be easier and faster to actually show you in person since Sunnyvale is closer than typing up a tutorial :P

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:23 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4277
Location: Uranus
Squishy Tia wrote:
Assuming you keep regular backups, it'd probably just be easier and faster to actually show you in person since Sunnyvale is closer than typing up a tutorial :P


LOL, good idea!

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group