XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1071
Location: Burblandia
Just got clover to boot my hackintosh but getting a message from Zuma's Revenge game "nohwid". Googling returns little but a couple posts refering to ethernet not being built in. Any clue how to use clover to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 2:48 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14574
Does System Report>Network or Sys Pefs>Network show any Ethernet?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1071
Location: Burblandia
BDAqua wrote:
Does System Report>Network or Sys Pefs>Network show any Ethernet?

Yes both show ethernet as en0.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:54 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14574
Quote:
This guide assumes you have a working OS X system with limited functionality (e.g., Ethernet or audio not working) that you wish to patch. This guide relies on a patch table (at the end) which must be contributed to by readers, to help smooth the road to OS X functionality for those who follow. Please contribute to the Hardware .kext Patching List#Patch Table if you have discovered something that belongs there.

http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index ... ching_List

Does System Report>Extensions show Ethernet loaded & valid, etc.?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2407
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
If you previously had the same hackintosh booted using Chameleon/Chimera and you still have their files on your HD, you'll want to snag your serial number and HW UUIDs off of them and put them into Clover. You should do this without ethernet connected the first time so Apple doesn't phone home and lock you out of iMessage, assuming it hasn't already done so, and then upon verifying that the entries have been added successfully, you can reconnect your ethernet.

It should be in the Hardware section of System Profiler like this:

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro3,1
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.9 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 32 GB
Boot ROM Version: MultiBeast.tonymacx86.com
SMC Version (system): 1.30f3
Illumination Version: 1.4a6
Serial Number (system): [redacted]
Hardware UUID: [redacted]

Your ethernet cards section should look like something similar to this:

ethernet:

Type: Ethernet Controller
Bus: PCI
Vendor ID: 0x8086
Device ID: 0x1533
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1458
Subsystem ID: 0xe000
Revision ID: 0x0003
Link Width: x1
BSD name: en0
Kext name: AppleIntelI210Ethernet.kext
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleIntelI210Ethernet.kext
mDNS offload capable: [redacted MAC address here]
Version: 2.1.6b1

You definitely want your Hardware UUID (if possible) and your S/N to match your previous non-Clover install when possible. If you do not need iMessage, you can switch to a different S/N, but be warned that if Apple ever introduces the S/N and hardware checks to the app store, it may effectively mean death for hackintoshes with regard to getting new OS versions without a real Mac (at least in an easily done non-sneakernet fashion).

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:21 pm
Posts: 1071
Location: Burblandia
Squishy Tia wrote:
If you previously had the same hackintosh booted using Chameleon/Chimera and you still have their files on your HD, you'll want to snag your serial number and HW UUIDs off of them and put them into Clover. You should do this without ethernet connected the first time so Apple doesn't phone home and lock you out of iMessage, assuming it hasn't already done so, and then upon verifying that the entries have been added successfully, you can reconnect your ethernet.

It should be in the Hardware section of System Profiler like this:

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro3,1
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.9 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 32 GB
Boot ROM Version: MultiBeast.tonymacx86.com
SMC Version (system): 1.30f3
Illumination Version: 1.4a6
Serial Number (system): [redacted]
Hardware UUID: [redacted]

Your ethernet cards section should look like something similar to this:

ethernet:

Type: Ethernet Controller
Bus: PCI
Vendor ID: 0x8086
Device ID: 0x1533
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1458
Subsystem ID: 0xe000
Revision ID: 0x0003
Link Width: x1
BSD name: en0
Kext name: AppleIntelI210Ethernet.kext
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleIntelI210Ethernet.kext
mDNS offload capable: [redacted MAC address here]
Version: 2.1.6b1

You definitely want your Hardware UUID (if possible) and your S/N to match your previous non-Clover install when possible. If you do not need iMessage, you can switch to a different S/N, but be warned that if Apple ever introduces the S/N and hardware checks to the app store, it may effectively mean death for hackintoshes with regard to getting new OS versions without a real Mac (at least in an easily done non-sneakernet fashion).

Thanks Squishy Tia, I knew you were one of the few Hackintoshers around these parts and had hoped you might respond.

First, my imessage stopped working about a month ago and has been non-functioning ever since, no matter the solutions I have attempted. Apparantly that is a well known hackintosh issue that is currently being looked at for solution. I was trying Clover mostly for educational purposes and to be ready if a switch is required. It is on a drive I use just for testing.

I did change a couple things when using Clover that I probably should mention. I changed from a Mac Pro 3,1 to a Mac Pro 5,1 mostly because my system uses a 1366 MB with a Xeon x5650 CPU. I think MacPro 5,1 is a better match for that hardware. That did result in a different serial number than on my Chimera system though. I can report that I remain locked out of iMessage even with Clover.

I'm still uncertain why the "nohwid" message shows up with the PopCap games. They work with Chimera, not with Clover! I solved that issue in the past by adding a device property to my Chameleon.boot.plist file but that was years ago and I have not seen that issue ever occur with Chimera bootloader.

Here is the info from my System Profiler for both systems (MacPro 5,1 using Clover and MacPro 3,1 using Chimera).


Hardware MacPro 5,1 Clover System Profiler

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro5,1
Processor Name: 6-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 4 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 6
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 12 MB
Memory: 16 GB
Bus Speed: 728 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03
SMC Version (system): 1.39f11
Illumination Version: 1.4a6
Serial Number (system): [11 characters redacted]
Serial Number (processor tray): [17 characters redacted]
Hardware UUID: [xxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx -redacted]


Ethernet cards

Marvell Yukon Gigabit Adapter 88E8053 Singleport Copper SA:

Name: ethernet
Type: Ethernet Controller
Bus: PCI
Vendor ID: 0x11ab
Device ID: 0x4362
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x11ab
Subsystem ID: 0x4362
Revision ID: 0x0020
Link Width: x1
BSD name: en0
Kext name: AppleYukon2.kext
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleYukon2.kext
Version: 3.2.3b1

Hardware MacPro 3,1 Chimera System Profiler

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro3,1
Processor Name: 6-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 4 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 6
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 12 MB
Memory: 16 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 6.6 GT/s
Boot ROM Version: MultiBeast.tonymacx86.com
SMC Version (system): 1.30f3
Illumination Version: 1.4a6
Serial Number (system): [11 characters redacted]
Serial Number (processor tray):SOMESRLNMBR
Hardware UUID: [xxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx -redacted but exactly same as Clover version]


Ethernet Cards

Marvell Yukon Gigabit Adapter 88E8053 Singleport Copper SA:

Name: ethernet
Type: Ethernet Controller
Bus: PCI
Vendor ID: 0x11ab
Device ID: 0x4362
Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x11ab
Subsystem ID: 0x4362
Revision ID: 0x0020
Link Width: x1
BSD name: en0
Kext name: AppleYukon2.kext
Location: /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleYukon2.kext
Version: 3.2.3b1

I'll point out that the serial numbers (system and processor tray) are very different for each system. However, the Hardware UUID are exactly the same.

Does this info add anything to the conversation? Also, any insight on how one might re-store iMessage? It is not essential but I was getting quite fond of using it because of the full size keyboard for texting. I find the Clover Configurator to be somewhat less than intuitive to use. I do not know where to start when trying to re-establish imessage.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group