XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 12:00 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 444
I have to bust open an old iMac to remove it's walking wounded hard drive because it's too far gone to be Boot and Nuked and I figured I would toss another drive in there since it has to be useful to someone. I had never so much as touched a second generation Intel iMac before so this was new ground for me and I was surprised to see that with a CPU upgrade it would run High Sierra.

Since I'm opening it anyways and the CPU is all of $16.50 on eBay with free shipping I figured I would try this, particularly since this is a faster Penryn CPU than the 2010 Mac mini had and the Radeon 2600 Pro is still supported in High Sierra.

http://lowendmac.com/2018/penryn-t9300- ... 2007-imac/

Has anyone done this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:33 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16700
Does that also mean it can see/use 8GB of RAM?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 8:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 444
No, that is a limitation of the chipset which Apple went cheap on.

The Intel 965 based Macs were a source of confusion to me because I had (and still have) an Intel Q965 based PC that has 8GB of RAM, but Apple went cheap with the PM965 that only officially supports 4GB (but really supports 6GB). I always assumed the undocumented headroom was so designs could lock down some system memory for video use.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:39 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16700
Ah, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 1:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10962
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
(sigh) I miss sockets.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2748
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
MonkeyBoy wrote:
(sigh) I miss sockets.


Yeah. How much you wanna bet the 2019 Mac Pros are the soldered BGA packages and not socketed? The only ones Intel won't put on its ARK site are the OEM/BGA chips and Apple's lot falls into that category. That'd be a pretty big nail in the coffin for production shops because being unable to replace individual components when they fail (not if, but when) is often a non-starter for them, especially with the cost coming from Apple.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10962
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Oh I know a nutty TV station that has trashcan pros all over the place along with PCIe sidecars for acceleration beyond what those ancient GPUs can handle.

I honestly have no idea how much they sunk into that debacle but apparently they'll all be out the door once the new Pros ship because they've got money to burn and no common sense.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 444
Squishy Tia wrote:
MonkeyBoy wrote:
(sigh) I miss sockets.


Yeah. How much you wanna bet the 2019 Mac Pros are the soldered BGA packages and not socketed?


Given the TDP of the Xeons destined for the Mac Pro that seems extremely unlikely.

In any event, I am dithering on this, the Superdrive is shot and there is uneven backlighting along the bottom of the screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 11:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2748
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
You can have soldered CPUs at that TDP if the cooling mechanisms are up to snuff. And as none of Apple's CPUs are listed in the ARK site, it's very likely they're the OEM-only Xeons, which happen to be soldered, not socketed. And you can bet Apple would love nothing more than to have soldered to force upgrade to a new machine to get better CPUs down the road.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2019 11:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 444
High melting point solder isn't ROHS compliant.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group