XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Sat Jul 11, 2020 3:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:19 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
Hi there. I have a Hackintosh running OS X 10.11.6 that has a Blu-Ray drive in it. It is an LG “M DISC”. System Profiler it shows it as:
HL-DT-ST BD-RE WH14NS40:
Firmware Revision: 1.00
Interconnect: ATAPI
Burn Support: Yes (Generic Drive Support)
Profile Path: None
Cache: 4064 KB
Reads DVD: Yes
CD-Write: -R, -RW
DVD-Write: -R, -R DL, -RAM, -RW, +R, +R DL, +RW
BD-Write: -R, -RE
Write Strategies: CD-TAO, CD-SAO, CD-Raw, DVD-DAO

So, how do I use a Blu-Ray disc? DVD Player doesn’t recognize it. VLC doesn’t recognize it. Handbrake attempts to scan but comes back saying that there is nothing to see here, move along now. Meanwhile, the drive works great as a CDROM and DVD drive, but I believe I paid more with the idea that it would read Blu-Ray discs as well. I was hoping to be able to back up the Blu-Ray discs I legally own, using Handbrake, but so far I cannot even play them in Mac OS X; they seem to work under Windoze 8.1, but I would prefer not having to resort to Windoze.

When I drag the Blue-Ray icon from the desktop onto VLC, it pops up with this message:
Errors and Warnings
Blu-ray error
This Blu-ray Disc needs a library for AACS decoding, and your system does not have it.
Your Input can’t be opened
VLC is unable to open the MRL ‘bluray:///Volumes/VOLUME_ID’. Check the log for details.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2843
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
http://www.videolan.org/developers/libbluray.html

http://www.videolan.org/developers/libaacs.html

http://www.videolan.org/developers/libbdplus.html

Also, there's a Mac Blu-Ray player app that you can try. It allows for bitstream audio so you can get DTS Master Audio and Dolby TrueHD. No word on Atmos support, which is fairly new anyway.

Edit: Comparison of the Standard/Pro versions of the Blu-Ray player app. For the current measly $10 difference it'd be worth the pro app upgrade for 4K/full bitstream support.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Last edited by Squishy Tia on Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:13 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17710
Not sure about this, but...

http://vlc-bluray.whoknowsmy.name

https://forum.videolan.org/viewtopic.php?t=130923


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:43 am
Posts: 26
Location: The Scottish Highlands
There is a Roxio/Toast plug-in that allows OSX to see/read/write to a Blu-ray disc:

http://www.roxio.com/eng/products/toast ... ments.html

It allows you to use BD-R (recordable - once) and BD-RE (recordable/erasable - many times). This driver, standing alone, gives you access to the 25GB data capacity of a BD (or 50GB, if dual layered).

It can be used (I believe) WITHOUT Toast, although it makes sense to buy (Toast+this driver) as a package.

Toast itself then also allows you to author HD video files into a disc image that is compatible with a set-top Blu-ray video player. Paradoxically, although Toast will burn such a disc on a Mac, it still can't playback a Blu-ray video disc it made on a Mac - seeing the files as "data" files only.

The BD video menu formatting available in Toast is workable, but limited.

Obviously some sort of licencing clusterf**k!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:49 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17710
Thanks for the details, long time no see! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:36 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
Nice, thanks for all the resources. I’ll hopefully get to try this out sometime during the week.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
And never forget about the monkey:
http://www.dvdfab.cn/blu-ray-copy-for-mac.htm

If all else fails you could use that to convert it to a format that you can read.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:37 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
I’m going to give this a try in a little while this evening. My goal is to be able to use Handbrake to make a backup (I purchased the Blu-Ray in question from Fry’s for only $2.00, thanks to their daily promo codes :D ) that I can use in VLC, as I like to be able to access all my media with VLC rather than rely on I dunno, let’s say iTunes. :roll:

Wish me luck :fishsmack:

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:02 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
Alrighty then!

I downloaded all of those items recommended for me to download. I have a bunch of folders with items in each of them. The sparse “documentation” I see within those links assumes I’m some computer science cybernerd, which I am not. I am not a software debeloper.

I made three directories at different levels on the hard disk called “~/lib”, and added the one file in there that’s supposed to go in there; not sure which one is the one that is making it work in VLC, but now the Blu-Ray disc plays in VLC, which is nice. :)

However, Handbrake crashes within a few seconds of my telling it to create a backup, and when it does, the Blue-Ray disc icon disappears from the desktop. I have restarted a few times and tried again, but the same thing happens.

Meanwhile, trying the trial version (until end of March 2017) of MakeMKV, and it is busy filling up my hard drive; hopefully I will figure out how to use this backup of the Blu-Ray it is creating so as to make a smaller and usable file within Handbrake.

Thanks

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:29 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
Ahhh, I see now (this should have been obvious :roll: ) MakeMKV is now making an MKV… I wonder how big the filesize will be. I might have to re-encode in Handbrake or something.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2843
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
Leopold Porkstacker wrote:
Ahhh, I see now (this should have been obvious :roll: ) MakeMKV is now making an MKV… I wonder how big the filesize will be. I might have to re-encode in Handbrake or something.

-he who stacks pork


The MKVs will be the sum total of your blu-ray's actual content size. So if the sum total of what's on the blu-ray is 50 GB, the folder contents MakeMKV creates will be 50 GB. Blu-ray, even though it's HD/4k, is already fairly compressed in terms of data as it's encoded in the 4:2:0 format just like DVDs are. You can get the bitrate down, but at the cost of video quality. There's no more color compression to be had with blu-ray without tangible degredation, hence why backups are nearly identical in size to the originals.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:22 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
Yes, seems as you have mentioned, that it backed up EVERYTHING. So I launched Handbrake, and loaded the appropriate full-length .MKV file and am now rendering it down to a more suitable/usable size (source was 25GB). Seems to be averaging 15.2 fps on my 3.4GHz quad-core i5 (would be cool if there was a way to use the graphics card for this, this particular Hackintosh has a Radeon HD 5870 afterall).

So when this is done, time to delete about 40GB of stuff I will no longer need.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2019 3:17 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
This stupid shit again. Real Mac Pro (not a Hackintosh) with a Blue-Ray drive installed. Followed instructions, putting those files in certain folders. Doesn’t work. This is do goddamn stupid. All I want to do is watch Die Hard I and II in 4K on Christmas day and it doesn’t even fucking work. What a goddamn joke. Can anyone walk me through the nerd procedure? I downloaded the .tar.bz file and now I have a directory called “libbluray-1.1.2” – I have no idea what to do with this nerd stuff. Will I be able to watch these Blue-Ray discs I legally own?

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2019 5:20 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17710
Leo, is this what you've tried?

About the App
App name: libbluray
App description: Blu-Ray disc playback library for media players like VLC
App website: https://www.videolan.org/developers/libbluray.html
Install the App
Press Command+Space and type Terminal and press enter/return key.
Run in Terminal app:
ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homeb ... er/install)" < /dev/null 2> /dev/null
and press enter/return key.
If the screen prompts you to enter a password, please enter your Mac's user password to continue. When you type the password, it won't be displayed on screen, but the system would accept it. So just type your password and press ENTER/RETURN key. Then wait for the command to finish.
Run:
brew install libbluray
Done! You can now use libbluray.

Still not going to play protected BRs though as far as I can tell.

Current versions: 1.1.2 catalina, mojave, high_sierra
Depends on:

fontconfig 2.13.1 XML-based font configuration API for X Windows
freetype 2.10.1 Software library to render fonts

https://formulae.brew.sh/formula/libbluray


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2019 12:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2843
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
Leopold Porkstacker wrote:
This stupid shit again. Real Mac Pro (not a Hackintosh) with a Blue-Ray drive installed. Followed instructions, putting those files in certain folders. Doesn’t work. This is do goddamn stupid. All I want to do is watch Die Hard I and II in 4K on Christmas day and it doesn’t even fucking work. What a goddamn joke. Can anyone walk me through the nerd procedure? I downloaded the .tar.bz file and now I have a directory called “libbluray-1.1.2” – I have no idea what to do with this nerd stuff. Will I be able to watch these Blue-Ray discs I legally own?

-he who stacks pork


Unless the Mac Pro is the new one, you can't watch a 4K blu-ray on your real Mac Pro. It doesn't have HDCP 2.2. Its GPU might, but the CPU does not, and unless all components are HDCP 2.2 compliant, you can only do 1080p blu-ray at the most.

For 4K and blu-ray, you must have a fully HDCP 2.2 compliant system. Your hackintosh, if it's Skylake or better, will do. Otherwise, get a standalone 4K blu-ray player.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2019 12:53 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17710
Impressive knowledge ST, thanks. :coffee:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
It's ironic that remaining legal gives you less functionality than if you pirate the movie.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 10:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 2824
Location: home
Yes, so silly that for example with Kodi one can move the subtitles to the black bar below the wide format movie. Or download subtitles in languages not available in the original disc. Basic features that were not available in "original" junk at least in 2011, haven't look back after that. :p_dog:

PS Netflix, please adopt the feature for moving subtitle locations.

_________________
Escaping Special Character


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:26 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
Seriously? Windoze PCs I can only guess will play Blue Rays if they have a Blue Ray player in them. This is a late 2012 Mac Pro, so it’s a real Mac Pro. Why is this so impossible? Is there any practical/logical reasoning for this? I just want to watch my movies– what is the point of getting Blue Rays? Sheesh.

I have a Hackintosh that I set up to make backups in 1080p of the Blue Rays, I think this was over a year ago when I bought the Nakatomi Plaza collector’s edition Blue Ray 6-disc set. Well, I have a nice 40" 4K TV plugged into my RX580 in my 2012 Mac Pro, so it would seem logical that everything should work. Whatever. I still don’t trust a Hackintosh OS install further than I can kick it, so obviously my real computer is the 2012 Mac Pro. Sheesh.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 12:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 11390
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
To rip them to movie files, then play them wherever you want without restrictions.

The MPAA are the source of these frustrations. The tighter they squeeze, the more they encourage piracy. Of course if you legally own the original media you have the legal right to transcode that media into another format to get around compatibility issues like these.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2843
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
Leopold Porkstacker wrote:
Seriously? Windoze PCs I can only guess will play Blue Rays if they have a Blue Ray player in them. This is a late 2012 Mac Pro, so it’s a real Mac Pro. Why is this so impossible? Is there any practical/logical reasoning for this? I just want to watch my movies– what is the point of getting Blue Rays? Sheesh.

I have a Hackintosh that I set up to make backups in 1080p of the Blue Rays, I think this was over a year ago when I bought the Nakatomi Plaza collector’s edition Blue Ray 6-disc set. Well, I have a nice 40" 4K TV plugged into my RX580 in my 2012 Mac Pro, so it would seem logical that everything should work. Whatever. I still don’t trust a Hackintosh OS install further than I can kick it, so obviously my real computer is the 2012 Mac Pro. Sheesh.

-he who stacks pork


The issue with the real Mac Pro is that its CPU is not HDCP 2.2 compliant. Your graphics card is, but unless all components in the chain are HDCP 2.2 certified, you won't be able to output protected material at 4k. The best you'll be able to do is 1080p, which coming from a 4k blu-ray means downscaling, which makes things look yucky. That's why I said a Skylake or later hackintosh (or real Mac) would work. The CPUs from Skylake onward are HDCP 2.2 compliant. That's one of the reasons I decided to do a new hackintosh build now, though with Catalina being the shitfest that it is and Apple blocking my nVidia 1080 Ti from working past 10.13.6, I might forego the hackintosh part and move full time to Windows 10. I hate that possibility, but Apple isn't leaving me much to work with anymore and I'm sure as fuck not paying for any of the shit iMacs out there and can't afford a 2019 Mac Pro, not even the base model. Truth be told, if I could go back three months with current knowledge, I'd have put together an HEDT build instead of a 9900k build. That way I'd have full use of both NVMe drives simultaneously in the new rig. In the 9900k build, those HSIO lanes are still tied to a craptacular DMI 3.0 link to the CPU, which maxes out at PCIe 3.0 x4, or the bandwidth of one NVMe drive (meaning RAIDing them on a PC mobo is pointless).

This whole situation I'm stuck with isn't helped by the fact that Catalina wiped out roughly 90% of the Steam games that could be played on OS X because they're 32-bit, not 64-bit. Fun times we live in, yes? WTB the old days of component video and better games. :)

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 783
Location: Wakefield, UK
Squishy Tia wrote:
WTB the old days of component video and better games. :)


To my right there is an Amiga 1200, an Atari 800XL (there's a 65XE in the floor also), a Sinclair Spectrum and an Atari VCS all set up on a 14" CRT...

Hell yeah!

...casually brushes over the other room where the rest of the kit is.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 6:28 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 17710
:D :D :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 6:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2843
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
I miss my 800XL given to my by my 8th grade 7th period computer class teacher. She's probably passed away by now. :(

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2020 9:54 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4542
Location: Uranus
Lame. I don’t know what HDPC is but apparently mine is out of date on my late 2012 Mac Pro – who would’ve known? I guess I need more than one computer to do regular things with. I need more horizontal space, or longer extension cords and HDMI cables.

I still have my Atari 800. Haven’t used it in a few years but last time I did, it powered right up. I’d still game on it if only I could figure out how to get a video signal to a modern HDMI monitor.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB
Surly 1x1, 9:zero:7 Whiteout, Chinese 29er, Gary Fisher Rig SS, Surly Troll SS, Santa Cruz Chameleon, NS Eccentric, Frankendale Cannonstein 650b
I enjoy picnics on the beach with hot and crazy women


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group