XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:15 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:16 pm
Posts: 1146
Location: Prescott, AZ
I don't completely understand TB, and I certainly don't know if this dock is worth the $$ for what it does, but I do have some questions.

https://www.elgato.com/en/thunderbolt/t ... olt-2-dock

It does give 3 x USB 3.0 ports, which I guess is nice. Also 2x TB2, an HDMI, a 1000base-T, amplified stereo and a mono mic in.

The HDMI out can do 4096 x 2160K @ 24Hz, which doesn't seem too amazing. Does this mean there's a video card in there?

_________________
Richard
Drink more coffee!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:35 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14574
No idea really, but I'm betting no video card in it, judging from the price of video cards & stats similar to what the best Apple Computers can do...

http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202856
Quote:
You can use 4K displays and Ultra HD TVs with these Mac computers.

* MacBook Pro (Retina, Late 2013 and later)
* Mac Pro (Late 2013)
* iMac (27-inch, Late 2013 and later)
* Mac mini (Late 2014)


You can use 4K displays and Ultra HD TVs at the following resolutions and refresh rates via the built-in HDMI port.

* 3840 x 2160 at 30 Hz refresh rate
* 4096 x 2160 at 24 Hz refresh rate (mirroring is not supported at this resolution)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:16 pm
Posts: 1146
Location: Prescott, AZ
I was thinking maybe the video card being used is in the mac and the station just relays it onto the display, is that what you are thinking?

_________________
Richard
Drink more coffee!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:38 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14574
Yes, exactly. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9442
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Yeah, with Thunderbolt you can daisy chain devices together and - normally - also connect displays. Though the displays usually have to be at the end of the chain, unless they also include a Thunderbolt dock.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group