XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:31 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: ClamXav and Malwarebytes
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 8:16 am 

I've been running ClamXav for more than several years, specifically for virus protection. And, when the threats of malware began increasing over the past two or so years, Malwarebytes was recommended, so I've been running that, as well.

ClamXav has just released their version 3 (which will be on an annual subscription basis), but now I can't tell if there is a difference between the types of threats that each of these apps protects against and whether continuing to run both apps will create a compatibility conflict.

Any thoughts? Thanks!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:29 pm 
Benevolent Dictator

Great question Mike. :)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:12 am 

What I would do: register at Malwarebytes, then go to https://forums.malwarebytes.com/forum/1 ... ort-forum/ where you will likely get the best answer from Thomas Reed, the developer, as well as Al Varnell (alvarnell), a frequent contributor there, who, at least in the past was quite active as a mod at ClamX--he will probably know.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:33 pm 

That's a good idea. I'd like to not ruffle any feathers, of course. Right off, I can state that ClamXav allows users to scan entire volumes or selectively scan folders, etc., and it offers the option to scan email content for malware and phishing. Malwarebytes, on the other hand, doesn't specify what locations it does and does not scan. So, based on the short run time, it appears to scan only certain (unknown) locations. I'll share if I find out any more.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:54 pm