XYMer's Home away from Home
https://x704.net:443/bbs/

powerd using too much CPU.
https://x704.net:443/bbs/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=8055
Page 1 of 1

Author:  BDAqua [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:12 pm ]
Post subject:  powerd using too much CPU.

No idea what causes it, just noticed it this week a couple of times, Restart is only thing that fixes it.

It doesn't show in Terminal using top, it shows in Activity Monitor & can't be sampled, just goes on forever trying to sample.

From Etrecheck...

Top Processes by CPU: ⓘ
93% powerd
10% WindowServer
5% sysmond
2% mdworker(10)
2% kernel_task

Author:  roam [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: powerd using too much CPU.

Can you quit it in Activity monitor, to save doing a restart?
Attachment:
quitprocess.jpg
quitprocess.jpg [ 38.6 KiB | Viewed 577 times ]

Author:  BDAqua [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: powerd using too much CPU.

Sometimes that cuts CPU usage in half, only to get back higher within a minute or so, sometimes it has zero effect to Force Quit it, thanks.

Author:  WZZZ [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: powerd using too much CPU.

You must already have done some searching for this, but I'm getting quite a few hits, nothing leading to a satisfactory solution for everyone, however, when I search for "powerd OS X."

Author:  BDAqua [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 3:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: powerd using too much CPU.

Thanks, yes I have, Little Snitch has been blamed, far as I can tell that isn't the case here, many other allusions to what it is, & LOL plenty of don't worry about it, it means nothing!

Also read it mostly happens with File Sharing active, which may be, combined with something else, trying to watch that & see if I can stumble on something.

Author:  Squishy Tia [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: powerd using too much CPU.

BDA, is this in El Capitan by chance?

Edit: It is NOT advisable to force quit powerd as it does not properly reset power management when you do so. You need to reboot. Typical powerd behaviour when force quit is to ramp up to 100% CPU (single core) use for ~15-30 seconds and then return to normal levels. However power management is hosed so a reboot is still needed.

Also, QuickLook is guaranteed to trigger powerd's spazfest. It doesn't manifest immediately, but once you trigger QuickLook, powerd begins ramping up its CPU creep.

Author:  BDAqua [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: powerd using too much CPU.

Thanks ST, this is Yosemite/10.10.5, I never purposely use Quicklook, but may have to try to answer a couple of questions lately!?

Author:  Squishy Tia [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: powerd using too much CPU.

BDAqua wrote:
Thanks ST, this is Yosemite/10.10.5, I never purposely use Quicklook, but may have to try to answer a couple of questions lately!?


I skipped Yoshitme entirely, so it's possible powerd was borked in that OS too. Looks like you're going to need to move to Sierra to fix that. It's broken in all versions of 10.11, that much I do know.

Author:  BDAqua [ Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: powerd using too much CPU.

Or go back to 10.8.5, which I normally run, but was trying to those with 10.10... thanks. :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/