XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
Privacy Policy
It is currently Wed Sep 18, 2019 4:31 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 476
Not that I care, but I installed High Sierra on a Parallels VM (upgrade from 10.9) and
there was no conversion from HFS+ to APFS. I am curious why it stayed HFS+.

First it upgraded to Sierra, then to High Sierra (I've heard that would happen).

It did not convert to APFS though on final install, but it installed just fine.

Possible reasons:

1. It thinks Parallels drive is a fusion drive.

2. It couldn't unmount Parallels drive (sometimes the only way to unmount
a drive in Parallels VM is through Parallels Tools).

3. Perhaps installs on parallels vm's are designed that way (between Apple and Parallels).

4. It's sitting on a SSD, but it may not know that since I didn't check the TRIM box in Parallels.

5. Perhaps it does know it is sitting on a Raid 0 array and didn't convert because of that.

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:51 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 16459
What version of Parallels?

I think the .vdd is really disconnected from Apple's OS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 476
You're probably right BD:

I'm on Parallels 14.1.3

Getting info in disk utility on the vdd lists the Media type as "Generic".
I'm assuming that the Apple installer, unable to define the media
type, defaulted to HFS+.

Further still, DU thinks the Media is neither ejectable nor solid state media.

Parallels VM disks definitely live in a world of their own (even without a Media name
according to DU).

:)

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 3:25 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10817
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
High Sierra doesn't convert installations to HDs to APFS, only installations to storage devices it considers SSDs, which unfortunately includes SATA SSDs. It's likely your virtualized controller doesn't report the virtualized disk as being an SSD. Not entirely sure what mechanism Apple uses to determine the disk is an SSD - I'm almost positive 10.13.0 excluded SATA SSDs but current versions include them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 476
Hi MB:

I just checked the real disk with DU on the Host OS (not the VM).

Volume type : Physical Volume
BSD device node : disk1s2
Connection : SAS
Journaled : Yes
Disk number : 1
Partition number : 2
Media name :
Media type : Generic
Ejectable : Yes
Solid state : No
Parent disks : disk1

This is the way DU sees the raid 0 array SSD's.
Obviously the Areca Controller tells the OS nothing
about the disks attached to it.

So you are correct - High Sierra installer could not
fingerprint the storage medium, so it simply placed
HFS+ on the storage medium instead of APFS.

It also sees it as an ejectable disk, which it is not
when booted from it.

Areca adds it's own EFI code to the mix during boot up
so that OSX can boot from drives attached to it.

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:58 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10817
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
For the longest time people were absolutely freaking out because they couldn't enable TRIM on RAID arrays because the host never saw the individual disks. I never really swung back around and found out if there ever was a solution to it. I suppose supporting TRIM on the raid controller which then translates it down to a TRIM command on the individual disk is one way but, well, ick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 476
There are certain SSD disks that are trim compatible with the Areca controller.
Due to the price of the disks, I don't own any of them (trim is built into Areca controllers).

So, I just set up the SSD's with plenty of free space so the built in garbage collection
software can keep up.

Basically there are no uniform Trim specifications. That's why Raid controllers
don't have trim or if they do, it's limited to a handful of certain SSD's.

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:40 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 10817
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Yeah, that's about where I figured the ick would come in. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2019 1:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:38 pm
Posts: 476
When using SSD's under Raid, especially under an aggressive SAS Raid controller
such as Areca Raid, here are some tips that can greatly improve SSD reliability:

1. Match Speed input -output settings on the Raid Card to the SSD.
eg: If the SSD is a Sata III (600 MB/s) then limit the Raid Card Maximum
Speed on that particular Raid array set to 600 MB/s.

2. Set the Raid Card Cache to Write-Through mode (Don't Cache data
that's destined to be written to disk). The SSD's usually have a built in
write cache already anyway.

3. When Partitioning the SSD Raid array, leave 20-30% empty space at the
end of the disk(s). The SSD disk controllers will recognize this space as
usable spare write space to store data should the disk become short on
usable write space due to lack of trim support, and/or loss from worn out
unusable flash cell media.
(this isn't as as painful as it used to be now that SSD prices have come down)

note: #3 tip is valid on a NON-SAS Raid Controllers (Raid cards with a built in sata
interface). Tips #1 and/or #2 may not be available or apply to NON-SAS Raid Controllers

_________________
Mac pro 1,1 - Mac pro 5,1 w/Areca Raid - Macbook pro 8,3 - Snow Leopard, Mountain lion and Sierra.
"We are the Messengers between Time and it's Keeper."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group