XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:36 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:46 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
Anyone have much success running XPostfacto on a Powermac 9600 with aftermarket G3 cards? I’ll be acquiring a high-end configured model—for it’s day—from my dad in a couple of weeks. Scored a 500/1MB Sonnet CPU upgrade for it (paid $28 with free shipping), also have an OS 8.6 - up capable ATA/100 PCI card for it and plenty of ATA drives, in addition to several SCSI cards and drives I’ve accumulated over the years. No worries on graphics cards, plenty of stuff out there to choose from (I probably already have something PCI that will work with it). What will I do with it? Not sure. But I am certain I’ll at least get OSX 10.2.8 up and running on it one way or another… come hell or high water.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:31 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14365
Never had a 9600, but I think XPostFacto should work. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:34 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9591
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
You might have more trouble with the G3 cards: a bunch of 'em that I dealt with back in the day seemed pretty flaky in the *500/*600 PowerMacs. I finally had enough bad experiences that I gave up on CPU upgrades in those systems. On the other hand, lots of other people seemed not to notice, so maybe I just had really terrible luck.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:48 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14365
The 400 MHz G3 in my 6500 was way faster than the later 500 MHz G3… go figure!?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2373
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
BDAqua wrote:
The 400 MHz G3 in my 6500 was way faster than the later 500 MHz G3… go figure!?


Improved vector processing unit (VPU) and better branch prediction. My G4/400 CPU on the XLR8 CarrierZIF card trounced a 500 MHz G3 easily, especially in games where the G4s had the better cache.

I miss my old PM 8500. Damned sentimentality...still have the CarrierZIF + G4/400 on it and the Radeon PCI card though. Ah...the memories.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:36 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14365
Well, both these were G3s, strange, it was like the 500 MHz one was out of sync with timing/cycles to the Bus or such, definitely lagged where the 400 MHz didn't.

And both were so fast that OS7.5.5 was unusable because it'd scroll hundreds of lines at a time.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9175
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I thought the 6500 had a 603e CPU, or am I thinking of an earlier Mac?

Leo, I used to have a 9600 with a Newertech G3 CPU card running OSX using XPostFacto. That was over 10 years ago though, so my memories are fuzzy... plus XPostFacto HAD to have been updated since then (I had run the Public Beta + 10.0/10.1). One nice thing about the NewerTech cards was their ROM blocked out whatever that odd function was that caused memory corruption on older systems, that everyone else worked around via a software patch.

So my experience may not be necessarily helpful, though at one point I recall being so frustrated I actually installed someone else's G3 software after NewerTech's G3 enabler ate itself (it had an annoying tendency to corrupt its install over time, it was the damndest thing).

Oh, I remember something. The big reason I opted for NewerTech was because I had a PCI SCSI card, in that the corruption problem could occur during boot before their enabler has a chance to load. By going with an ATA PCI card you could end up in the same boat if you want that to be the boot device. If you keep your boot device one of the internal busses I think you'll be OK.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:40 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14365
Yes, the 6500 came with a 200 MHz 603e, but these were upgrade cards, also had a Video Card/USB1.0 upgrade card in it in that strange slot it had.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2233
funny you should mention this setup, i had a 9600/350 beefed up with an xlr8 g4/450 and later with a powerlogix 1GHz G3. i was able to get all manner of OS X to run on it 10.0-10.4 with xpostfacto. even OCed the G4 to 510ishMHz. it was my main machine from like 2002-2005. it's since been collecting dust. the 50Mhz front side bus was its main limitation


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:05 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
Wow! Great turnout of experts in this thread! 8-) Once I get my hands on the machine, I’ll give ’er a go and see what I can do with it. I might even considering offering your guys some money for your G4 and high-speed G3 upgrade cards.

My only experience with XPostfacto was with the Beige G3s running overclocked G4 ZIFs (7400 and 7410 chips). Was pretty successful with getting them set up reliably, after the initial headaches… well, until one of the machines running 10.3.x decided to crap all over itself (OS became unusable to the point of requiring a reinstall).

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2233
^ yeah let me know about the upgrade cards, ill likely never use them again


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9175
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I sold my last 9600 off to a guy who threw it in the back of his pickup truck and absolutely freaked out because every last socketed/slotted piece of equipment in the case came loose on his (obviously bouncy) ride home, and he was apparently completely ignorant of how to take things apart and reseat everything. I had him bring it back to me, I reseated everything, told him explicitly not to stick it in the back of his pickup to avoid it happening again, so what does he do? Yup, threw it in the bed. On the next angry phone call I told him to go screw himself - if he wants to keep breaking it, he can keep fixing it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2233
leo- i sent u a PM not sure if it's stuck in the outbox


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:10 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
mc68k wrote:
leo- i sent u a PM not sure if it's stuck in the outbox


Got all three :lol: :roll: messages. I replied to one of them.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2233
for those of you still following this thread, here's some pics of the old 9600 beast.
http://imgur.com/a/BX0EZ/all


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:32 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14365
Ah, was it a 9500 or 9600?

I remember lusting after both!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:11 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
mc68k wrote:
for those of you still following this thread, here's some pics of the old 9600 beast.
http://imgur.com/a/BX0EZ/all


Nice setup!

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 3:01 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9591
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Were there processor upgrade compatibility issues with DIMMs installed in interleaved order?

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 3:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2373
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
BDAqua wrote:
Ah, was it a 9500 or 9600?

I remember lusting after both!


The case is a 9600 variant. The 85/9500 cases were beveled in the front. The 9600 cases were modeled differently and a bit more friendly to work with.


Anonymous wrote:
Were there processor upgrade compatibility issues with DIMMs installed in interleaved order?

- Anonymous


The problems weren't with memory as long as you were using 60ns DIMMs. The problems came from the cache DIMM, which was very sensitive to motherboard timing. Virtually none of them functioned over 50 Mhz, which is why if you were using a 604/180 you had to downclock to 45 MHz for the system bus instead of the more powerful 60 MHz bus if you were using a cache DIMM. And trust me, the downclock was light years ahead of a cacheless system at 60 Mhz. I know - I tried when a really nice fellow from Australia sent me a 604/180 for my 7500 and it would run, but not with the cache DIMM installed, resulting in a computer that was ungodly slow despite going from a 601/100 to a 604/180. Ultimately he sent me a PowerLogix 220/45 which overclocked supremely well to damn near 300 Mhz, an unheard of overclocking percentage these days without extreme liquid cooling or LN2.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:21 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14365
Quote:
The case is a 9600 variant.

Might be my vision, but I thought one of those pics with System Profiler said 9500.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:57 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9591
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Thanks for the refresher. I haven't had to think about this stuff for most of fifteen years.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2373
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
BDAqua wrote:
Quote:
The case is a 9600 variant.

Might be my vision, but I thought one of those pics with System Profiler said 9500.


That means he had a 9500 motherboard in a 9600 case. The swing out cases were 9600s.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2233
BDAqua wrote:
Quote:
The case is a 9600 variant.

Might be my vision, but I thought one of those pics with System Profiler said 9500.

you're right- OS X reports the model identifier as 9500. the gestalt ID for both 9500/9600 is 67. OS 9 knows its a 9600 but OS X doesn't. my old umax s900 showed up as a 9500 as well haha


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:42 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14365
Thanks! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2013 10:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9175
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I'm fairly sure my 9600 reported itself as a 9500 was well. The motherboards are identical between the two, though perhaps both of these suffered a motherboard transplant at some point (I bought mine used).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group