XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 12:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 9:14 pm
Posts: 3633
Location: Raleigh, NC
So today I decided to turn my PC into a Hackintosh since it's faster than my Early 2008 Mac Pro, and it makes more sense to just reboot to switch OSes instead of having both computers set up.

I have two 640GB drives, which were previously set up kind of oddly, with a 300GB Windows partition on one drive, a matching 300GB partition on the second drive, and a software RAID 0 with the remaining space on the two drives. Doing this changed the partition type to Windows_LDM.

To install OS X, I removed the software RAID and formatted the second drive. So the first drive still has a bootable Windows partition and free partition on it. I figured it would be good to be able to access it from OS X for accessing files and/or possibly booting it as a VM when I don't need a full boot to Windows.

Can the drive be converted to MBR without reformatting it, or is there a way to read LDM in Mavericks?

_________________
Things are only impossible until they're not - Jean Luc Picard
Impossible is a word to be found only in the dictionary of fools - Napoleon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 6:47 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14262
Would Parallels...

http://www.parallels.com/

VmWare Fusion...

http://www.vmware.com/mac

Or VirtualBox…

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

Be able to read it in a Windows VM???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 7:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 9:14 pm
Posts: 3633
Location: Raleigh, NC
Possibly, but I'd have to install a second Windows install in a VM in order to access the first install, which would defeat the purpose. I'm trying to avoid having to reinstall everything, otherwise I'd just format it as MBR and reinstall.

_________________
Things are only impossible until they're not - Jean Luc Picard
Impossible is a word to be found only in the dictionary of fools - Napoleon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:43 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14262
It can be converted it appears!

http://www.allroundgeek.com/2011/05/sav ... sk-to.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2367
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
This snippet from the article you link makes me cringe:

Quote:
After more googling I found a fantastic Open source utility called TestDisk that could do exactly what I wanted, among many other things. Being Open Source it was native to Windows, Mac and Linux.


*shudder*

Thankfully my Hack Pro didn't get the LDM treatment when I installed Windows 7 Pro. So I now have the best of both worlds, especially if Apple fucks up my ability to upgrade properly to Yosemite in the future.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 12:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9090
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Ahhh, Windows_LDM is Dynamic Disk. Sorry, I don't know of any way to read them on OSX. I avoid them like the plague on Windows because they come with all kinds of gotchas there. If I feel like fighting through Microsoft's arcane and unnecessarily obtuse disk imaging/management/distribution utilities then for all that trouble I get the same functionality as I get with Basic Disks using third party (and GUI-based) utilities. Well, except for software RAID support, but I don't want that (hardware raid or bust).

I know using the built-in Microsoft utilities you can convert a basic disk to a dynamic disk, but once dynamic I don't know of any way (using Microsoft tools) to switch it back. The problem is that around the time Microsoft released dynamic disks most of the third party imaging software was either killed of died off, so besides Microsoft you have fairly limited options. I think Acronis supports them in limited ways but that's all Windows (and Linux) based.

What I would do is get into a Windows environment and then transfer the data off that partition to a third, basic, disk, then once I'm satisfied the data is intact and readable on the other disk destroy the dynamic disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group