XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:59 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:06 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
A few capacitors on the motherboard of the “Blackpork Edition” MonkeyboyPC are starting to bulge. I’ve been noticing intermittent issues with the computer over the past couple of months which could be tied to the bulging caps. Have you a recommendation for a suitable replacement motherboard? I haven’t built a PC since about 2001 (it was a pain in the ass procedure), is it pretty straightforward these days? Do I need to reinstall the OS??? (I have a Windoze 7 Pro installer CD) Please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks!

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9180
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Switching motherboards can be tricky. Assuming you're running XP, you can perform a "repair install" of Windows that basically leaves all the installed software intact and resets the hardware database to 0 and re-detects it all like its a new PC. It's real simple, automated, no strange questions or even quirkiness, just boot off a Windows XP install CD and go forward like you're going to install Windows, then at the point where you normally select a disk to install on it will ask if you want to repair the Windows installation. Hit R to repair and off it goes.

There isn't a similar option for Windows Vista/7/8, you have to use sysprep to "generalize" the hardware with the OS running on the old system, then shut down and move the drive over to the new system/motherboard.

Your best bet is to go up on NewEgg and go through the DIY PC combos to find a motherboard/CPU/RAM/PSU combo that you can stuff into that case. If I'm remembering right that's a Socket 754 DDR board and nobody makes DDR boards nor socket 754 boards anymore, plus modern PSUs have additional/different leads that modern motherboards require. Avoid motherboards made by ECS, Biostar, and Foxconn; if the combo includes one made by them, just move on to another combo. I could poke around there if you want, but it'll have to wait until another day, I've got some wonderful physical therapy to scamper off to today.


Last edited by MonkeyBoy on Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:00 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
Thanks for the info. I’ll check Newegg.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 2:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:15 pm
Posts: 5807
Location: NYC
MonkeyBoy wrote:
I've got some wonderful physical therapy to scamper off to today.

Oy! That's that ankle? I guess if you can "scamper off," not "hobble off," it can't be terrible, maybe just awful. Hope that gets fixed up soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9180
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Yeah, apparently I'm weak in that ankle, but I haven't used it for 3 weeks so I figure simple lack of use has had to make it weaker. I moved down to a cane today and it didn't hurt until I went to therapy.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 1:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 1125
Location: Seattle, WA
I might also suggest this page for shopping lists: http://www.tonymacx86.com/section/295-customac.html

SC

_________________
Grumpy old man of Computing. Get off my CPU!

Desktop: Intel mini: 2.33 GHz i5 (G4/C2D minis are out with bad HDDs) OS X 10.10
qBOX-SF with four 2 TB
Peecee - Core i7 4771 W7 Pro 64
Server - Xeon 1231 FreeNAS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2013 4:35 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2373
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
Be aware that if you intend to use said PC components as a Hackintosh, do not get a GTX 780 GPU. Stick with the 770 or below, or if you can afford it, the 690 (OS X will recognize both GPUs as separate cards and utilize the primary GPU for rendering - this is the undisputed OpenCL/CUDA king). The GTX 780 and 780 Ti, as well as newly built Titan cards are now using the GK110B GPU, which crashes in OS X if any OpenCL calls are made. There is no current workaround, or estimate as to when nVidia will fix this.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:51 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
I hadn’t planned on it, but the notion of going Hackintosh seems tempting. System currently has a Radeon HD 5850 in it, I’d opt to stick with Radeon HDs as they have immense bang for the buck. I may as well just nuke-and-repave regardless and run Windoze 7 Pro since I have a legit installer acquired from a childhood friend of mine who lives/works up in Bellevue, Washington at a rather large PC OS and browser company with a household name.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:59 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
My next question for Mr. Monkeyboy is this:

Is it a good idea to upgrade this machine to Windoze 7 Pro, on top of the XP installation? The computer hasn’t been as flakey lately (must be the colder weather or something).

Thanks

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 2:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9180
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
There's no way to upgrade Windows XP to Windows 7. You have to format & reinstall to go from XP to 7.

The only possible way you could upgrade the installation would be to upgrade XP to Vista, then upgrade Vista to 7.

If you want to repartition the disk or stick in a 2nd disk, you could install Windows 7 onto the new partition/disk and leave the XP partition/disk intact. That's another option too.

In my experience 7 runs faster than XP on the same hardware, so its certainly worth upgrading. I don't know in terms of rc5 keys or whatnot if it's faster, but in day-to-day usage 7's disk subsystem blows XP's doors off.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:22 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
MonkeyBoy wrote:
The only possible way you could upgrade the installation would be to upgrade XP to Vista, then upgrade Vista to 7.


Gag!!!! :x Bloated piece of turd, yes, Vista is.

Quote:
If you want to repartition the disk or stick in a 2nd disk, you could install Windows 7 onto the new partition/disk and leave the XP partition/disk intact. That's another option too.


That’s not a bad idea. I might do that. Should technically be painless with a nuke-and-install, yes?

Quote:
In my experience 7 runs faster than XP on the same hardware, so its certainly worth upgrading. I don't know in terms of rc5 keys or whatnot if it's faster, but in day-to-day usage 7's disk subsystem blows XP's doors off.


I have noticed considerably less lag under Windoze 7 than XP, it seems like a usable operating system whereas XP is all about “please be patient”.

Thanks for the tips, I think I just might get the wild hare (hair?) up my butt and do a nuke-and-repave with the Windoze 7 installer.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9180
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
The nuke & reformat is fairly painless, it's basically the same as a normal install with an extra step of having to select a custom install and then, of course, deleting the partition(s) and creating a new one in its place. It's roughly outlined here:
http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/h ... ows-7.html

Oh, and I don't think you'd see any major benefit from the x64 (64-bit) version of Windows 7 - it uses more RAM than x86 (32-bit) and I believe that system is limited to 4GB. The version of XP you were using is 32-bit, so Win7 x86 is unlikely to introduce problems. The only reason I'm upgrading my 4GB-limited PC here at work to x64 (well, at least I will eventually) is because Kerbal Space Program crashes on x86 multiprocessor systems. YMMV.

If you don't mind buying a modern disk (1TBs are around $60), it'd probably make either XP or 7 substantially faster. New disks are noticeably quicker than the ones from back then.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 9:44 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
I may take a stab at it today. I’ve got a mangy little $70 6G 128GB SSD I might pop in there to see how it works with the system. That being said, I am expecting a NewEgg delivery tomorrow, component choice courtesy of Tonymacx86’s December 2013 build list, so as to build up a Hackintosh that I can hopefully figure out how to run multiple OS versions with (ideally 10.6.8, 10.7.5, and Windoze 7 Pro):

Crossfire-ready motherboard
Basic 4-core i5 CPU
Reasonable powersupply
Some RAM
SATA DVD drive

Pretty freakin’ expensive all things considered. I could have purchased a used Dell T7400 eight-core system with dual 2.0 PCI-E Crossfire ready slots for about the same amount. But there’s no guarantee I could get it running OSX 10.6.8.

Hopefully the process of building PCs has become less frustrating over the years. The last time I built one up was 2001 or so and I swore up and down I’d never do it again.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 1125
Location: Seattle, WA
I'm not sure, but I believe you can not run 10.6 on a Haswell CPU.

SC

_________________
Grumpy old man of Computing. Get off my CPU!

Desktop: Intel mini: 2.33 GHz i5 (G4/C2D minis are out with bad HDDs) OS X 10.10
qBOX-SF with four 2 TB
Peecee - Core i7 4771 W7 Pro 64
Server - Xeon 1231 FreeNAS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:48 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
Smithcraft wrote:
I'm not sure, but I believe you can not run 10.6 on a Haswell CPU.

SC


Hmm… hopefully there is some sort of workaround/hack to make it work. (fingers crossed) If not, I need to figure out a way to install 10.7 from a DVD (eBay seller sold me a legit version on a DVD) rather than the USB stick technique. I am OK with having to settle with 10.7, but 10.6 would be the best for me.

-meanwhile-

Realised today :fishsmack: the Monkeyboy PC has a CD drive, not a DVD drive, so I could not install Windoze 7 without taking the thing apart and putting a DVD drive in from one of my Macs (didn’t have a whole lot of time to tool around with computers today).

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2013 6:01 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14367
Quote:
...version on a DVD) rather than the USB stick technique.

On another Mac with a DVD, just image the DVD & Restore it to a USB stick... or small HD Partition.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9180
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Rather than pulling things all apart I'd just create Windows 7 USB install media. All you need is an ISO file and it's pretty painless. Microsoft even makes a utility that'll do all the hard work for you.

Ditto with the 10.7 install media, an 8GB USB flash drive is <$10 and far, far faster and less annoying to muck around with (since it's read/write you can make changes to the install media faster - no change the source media, build an image, burn image to disc nonsense).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:48 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
I ended up swapping one of the DVD drives from one of my G4 towers… but never got around to trying to install from the DVD, just ran out of time yesterday.

Meanwhile, NewEgg delivery came late yesterday afternoon. Just need some time to build things up now.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:34 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
Massive buttload of frustration. Period.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Last edited by Leopold Porkstacker on Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:51 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14367
Take a breather leo, then look everything over calmly again… I doubt you'll get anywhere in this state! :o


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:17 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
Wow. Finally got it sort of working. What a pain in the ass. Had to try the whole procedure over again. I was also sleep-deprived yesterday, I’ll go ahead and censor that tirade now. :oops: :fishsmack: Managed to install 10.6.8 on one partition and Windoze 7 on the other partition. Installing the Gigabyte motherboard drivers right now, I am hoping (fingers crossed) I will be able to switch between the two OSes… we’ll see.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 5:28 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14367
Whew, glad to hear you got some rest, & that it worked better so far... do keep us posted! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:17 am 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
Just checked to see if it would boot back into 10.6.8, and it did without USB. So, under iBoot I gave it the boot arguments of “USBBusFix=yes”, and now magically I have USB back in 10.6.8… which is just spiffy, seeing as I am using a USB mouse and keyboard.

https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3758/11533981895_132bc1775e_h.jpg

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 12:34 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14367
Great work Leo! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 5:23 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4228
Location: Uranus
In terms of performance and snappiness, this setup is on par with the 3.4GHz Core i7 iMac I had (up until recently). I am trying now to get two Radeon HD 5870 cards working, but I am starting to think that I need a 650W power supply– won’t boot with twin Radeon HD 5870 cards installed (with proper power cabling as far as I can fathom). It was sort of the original idea behind this build– an ultimate gaming rig that will function in it’s off-time as a brutal RC5-72 cracking setup. I spent more money than I had originally planned, and have had to resort to more trial and error futzing with parameters to get it working properly than I had originally bargained… yet I had expected hurdles to throw themselves in front of me along the way. Anyone want to buy a kick-ass 500W modular power supply? I thinkthe 650W version is calling my name…

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group