XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 7:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 1441
I've been using a Firewave since 10.5 on my Hackies. I haven't had any issues with it and don't need to worry about futzing around with audio drives. However, I think the little booger might finally be biting the dust. :(

I've seen this in 10.8 and 10.9. Sometimes when I boot, it'll be silent. I can adjust the audio and see the overlay, but no sound. If I go into Audio MIDI Setup and change the format to 48/44.1 (just switching it works), I'll get sound again. However, I also have occasional audio cutouts. It'll work fine, and then the next thing I know it's either dead silent or stuttering with the last sound ad infinitum. Adjusting the audio with a hotkey takes 5-10 seconds before the overlay shows, almost like it's choking on something, but makes no difference. Rebooting works, but always requires the format trick to get sound back once you do. I've seen this in the System log when it happens:

9/14/14 7:58:48.000 PM kernel[0]: Write for 0xffffff80266c3500 done, status e00002d6

The address may change, but I believe the status is always the same. I've seen reports of similar things with other Firewire peripherals. I've tried a different cable, but no luck. I've had it plugged into a PCIe Firewire 400/800 card with a TI chipset for some time. I tried switching back to the onboard Via chipset. No luck. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the aging Firewave software. No luck. If it's in the silent/stuttering state, opening up the Firewave application is also quite sluggish, as is the UI. It's like anything trying to access it is blocked to hell. I'm thinking that either compatibility is finally catching up to this old thing or it's just outright dying. I hope not. I'd like to get many more years out of it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2373
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
I get random L/R channel switchouts with my hackintosh's HDMI audio (I do not use ACL audio so the kexts for it are not used). The problem is coreaudiod in both of our cases. It's somehow really screwed up in Mavericks. Like massively screwed up. So much that even real mac hardware has issues with it. :(

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 1441
This was happening under 10.8 as well, and the errors in the Console would suggest that it's FW-related, at least from what I can tell. The L/R jack is getting a bit loose, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 5:29 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14361
Any FW drives connected?
Quote:
After I showed a friend of mine, these messages:

Aug 25 22:31:15 g5powwa kernel[0]: Write for 0x4947100 done, status e00002d6
Aug 25 22:31:15 g5powwa kernel[0]: Write for 0x4947100 done, status e00002d6
Aug 25 22:31:16 g5powwa kernel[0]: Write for 0x4947080 done, status e00002d6
Aug 25 22:31:17 g5powwa kernel[0]: Write for 0x4947080 done, status e00002d6

... he said right away. "This reminds me of a gridlock problem". I think he's right! It seems like when firewire800 is in use, firewire 400 is blocked.

unit 0x4947080 (EyeTV 200, on fw400) is done, and is waiting for unit e00002d (LaCie 250GB, on fw800) to get done. The EyeTV 200 does not start until I stop the LaCie drive from working.

I am now using fw400 for both EyeTV 200 and the LaCie drive, and now everything works flawlessly!

Does anybody know why fw800 is blocking for fw400-devices?


https://discussions.apple.com/thread/120529?tstart=0


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 1441
Nope, the Firewave is currently the only FW peripheral I'm using on this machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:35 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14361
Any idea what chipset it uses???


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:16 pm
Posts: 1133
Location: Prescott, AZ
Since I hadn't heard of the Firewave I gave it a quick look up.

I had to laugh at the first FAQ on this page-

http://griffintechnology.com/support/firewave/

Why does my my audio sound like chipmunks?! Now THAT is funny. Hope you can get it working, or get it fixed. My experience with FW devices is limited. Sadly, replacing the FW cable had worked a LOT for me and it didn't for you. Hmm, I had bad luck with a HDMI cable too.. maybe it's me.

Best of luck to you!

_________________
Richard
Drink more coffee!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group