XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:03 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Could it be?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 1441
I was in the mood for some nostalgia over the weekend, so I figured I'd try to get Phantasmagoria running in Sheepshaver. Now, bear in mind that I have NEVER been able to get SS running reliably. Well, it looks like SS might FINALLY be getting some stable and less buggy builds, because after grabbing the latest one from the forum...lo and behold, it works! Using an early PPC ROM, I got it booting OS 9.04, 8.6, 8.1, and 7.6.1. Phantasmagoria flat-out wouldn't run in 9 or 8.6. 7.6.1 (There was a torrent out there for it!) wouldn't recognize the optical drive. But 8.1 did the trick! Granted, this game was always flaky about whether it wanted to launch or not, but it worked as well as it did on a real classic machine and had no performance issues. I'm kinda stoked. I actually have a functional SS install!

Out of curiosity, does anyone have an older copy of Altivec Fractal Carbon? I don't think Power Fractal will run under OS 9 and I want to get an idea of how fast the emulated PPC is. It boots in less than 5 seconds, so it's pretty darned fast. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could it be?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 9:14 pm
Posts: 3633
Location: Raleigh, NC
I'm not sure if Altivec Fractal Carbon would work in 8.1 or not. The earliest G4s had 8.6 on them, so I'd guess that Altivec support wasn't added to Mac OS until then.

_________________
Things are only impossible until they're not - Jean Luc Picard
Impossible is a word to be found only in the dictionary of fools - Napoleon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could it be?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:20 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14253
I'm pretty sure this is an OS9 or earlier version...

http://web.fastermac.net/~bdaqua/AltiVe ... Carbon.hqx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could it be?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 1:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 1441
sarahbau wrote:
I'm not sure if Altivec Fractal Carbon would work in 8.1 or not. The earliest G4s had 8.6 on them, so I'd guess that Altivec support wasn't added to Mac OS until then.

I would be using it in the OS 9.04 image, not 8.1.

And thanks BD, that looks like it. 2001 and it actually runs under Snow Leopard! Score is way too low, but I'm surprised it even worked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could it be?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 1441
Turns out Dauger Research still has the latest OS 9 version. Got it running and landed 341 megaflops. I think that's about the score you'd get on a fast G3, maybe 600-700mhz. Not bad. Now, if Sheepshaver would just support multiple cores to make OS 9 multi-processor...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could it be?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:02 pm
Posts: 2279
...nostalgia just ain't what it used to be...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could it be?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2367
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
Pfffffft. I'd be happy to just have SheepShaver WORK. Period. I. WANT. MY. WARLORDS.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Could it be?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:39 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14253
This latest version crashed as Extensions started to load, twice, next time I held the Shift key down & it booted up & ran, subsequent boots didn't need the Shift Key... no idea what that was because Extension Manager never came up!?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group