XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Sun Jun 25, 2017 6:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: G5 17" Inverter Pinout
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:14 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
For what it's worth, I measured the following voltages from an iMac G5 (ambient light sensor model) 17" inverter connector. Pin 6 is at the top, pin 1 at the bottom:

Pin 6 = 3.3V
Pin 5 = GROUND
Pin 4 = 3.3V
Pin 3 = GROUND
Pin 2 = GROUND
Pin 1 = 12V


Updated from user leggot:
Pin 6 - Floating, do not connect
Pin 5 - Connect to 3.3VDC (+) through a 1kohm resistor
Pin 4 - Connect to 3.3VDC (+) through a 1kohm resistor
Pin 3 - 5VDC On/Off, connect to pin 14 on DVI Cable to turn off backlight after shutdown
Pin 2 - Ground
Pin 1 - 12.2VDC (+)


One or both the 3.3V pins may control brightness, with 3.3V indicating maximum brightness and lower voltages dimmer, but I didn't test.

For the record, this was on an iMac G5 2.0 GHz, 17" EMC No. 2055, but I suspect these pins are the same for all first and second generation 17" iMac G5s.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 1:26 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14485
Great post/info, thanks! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 8
Here is a picture of the pinout:


Attachments:
file.jpg
file.jpg [ 36.04 KiB | Viewed 76785 times ]


Last edited by leggot on Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:47 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Thanks!

I heard from leggot that he's modding an iMac in to an external display. The G5 iMacs have a TMDS signaled LCD, the practical upshot of which is that these panels use the exact same signaling as DVI, making the process of wiring one up as a display is relatively straightforward. It's a mod I'd love to do myself except that the way things are going I'm never going to have time.

Still, I'm really glad other people are doing it since it's an awesome thing to do with these machines when the motherboard dies.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 5:01 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14485
Welcome aboard leggot! :welcome:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 8
Thanks for the help, I just checked the voltages of the pins, and the 12 volt set lines up. That is I suspect the main power supply for the backlight. The 3.3v lines were not the same one being 1.8v, the other being 0.014v. These I suspect they change the brightness of the backlight and if it is on or off, however I do not know for sure.

I am following instructions here:http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1110159&highlight=imac+g5+external

If anyone would know which 3.3v controls the backlight on/off or brightness, it would help.

Thanks


:g4:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 3:20 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Unfortunately I don't know and it'll be several weeks before my life begins to return to something resembling normality such that I might be able to figure it out. I do, however, have a spare inverter and LCD so if in the course of experimenting something burns up, I can probably send you a replacement. If you manage to work out the precise control mechanism please let us know. I suspect it'll take a little bit of trial and error experimentation.

Thanks,
- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 8
Anonymous wrote:
I do, however, have a spare inverter and LCD so if in the course of experimenting something burns up, I can probably send you a replacement.


Thanks Anonymous, I will keep that in mind. I am very busy with robotics, and may not have time to go to the store to purchase the parts for several weeks.

For those who are waiting, hold on. It might be a while.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 8
Anonymous wrote:
Pin 6 is at the top, pin 1 at the bottom:

Pin 6 = 3.3V
Pin 5 = GROUND
Pin 4 = 3.3V
Pin 3 = GROUND
Pin 2 = GROUND
Pin 1 = 12V

One or both the 3.3V pins may control brightness, with 3.3V indicating maximum brightness and lower voltages dimmer, but I didn't test.
- Anonymous


I tested my own imac, with a voltmeter.I believe the voltages for my iMac (EMC:1989) to be:

TOP
Pin 6 = GROUND (-)
Pin 5 = 3.0v(+)
Pin 4 = GROUND (-)
Pin 3 = 2.1v - 5.09v(Controls Brightness)
Pin 2 = GROUND (-)
Pin 1 = 12.2v(+)
BOTTOM

Pin 3 the brightness also controls ON and Off. 2.1v-Brightest, 4.2v-Dimmiest, 5.1v-Off

I do not know what Pin 5 does yet, I could not figure it out.

Hope this helps someone.

--Leggot :)


Last edited by leggot on Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:44 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
That's very helpful. Thank you for contributing this information!

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 2:51 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14485
Wow... great work, thanks! :)

& Dr. Watson muses that maybe pin #5 makes the effect of Pin#3 actually... -.09=brightest, +1.1 = dimmest, +2.1 = Off... or some iteration??? :bonk:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:37 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14485
BTW, don't hesitate to let me know if my post is worthless or detracts from your subject in anyway, be glad to delete it.. mostly just trying to jog your thinking. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 8
Update:

I was able to mod the monitor correctly and wired the LCD backlight. However the backlight will not come on, even though I have to correct voltages.

I then tested the backlight on my working iMac, and it turns on correctly. Therefore, there is something wrong with the voltages that are being applied, or something of that matter. I am not exactly sure.

If you have any ideas, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:17 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Thanks for the update.

My iMac G5 LCD and inverter are packed up for my move this Saturday, but I'll try to pull it out once everything is in the new house. Please bump this thread if you don't hear from me by this time next week.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 8
Ok, will do.

Also, while re-reading the macrumors forum on this topic, electrikbill said that "I used the original power supply but any power supply with 12vdc, 5vdc, and 3.3vdc output will do."

This implies that you need 12v, 3.3v and 5v to hack the inverter, however I am not 100% sure. Something to think about.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1110159


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:52 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Another idea is to just use something else. Any other backlight inverter should also work, if you have another disused/party dead LCD lying around. I will, however, try to take a look at it as soon as I have time to sit down and breath.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 8
New Update:

I was able to contact "electrikbill" from my previous post. He sent me different pinouts than what I had.

Pin 6 - Floating, do not connect
Pin 5 - Connect to 3.3VDC (+) through a 1kohm resistor
Pin 4 - Connect to 3.3VDC (+) through a 1kohm resistor
Pin 3 - 5VDC On/Off, connect to pin 14 on DVI Cable to turn off backlight after shutdown
Pin 2 - Ground
Pin 1 - 12.2VDC (+)

I used these pin outs with on modification to get the backlight to turn on, pin 3 was put to 3.3v instead of 5v. This caused the backlight to turn on, however after several trials, the inverter seems to be broken, as the backlight will not come on when the inverter is connected the the mother board of a real iMac G5.

In addition, I got the dvi input working after following the wiring diagram here:http://images.elektroda.net/78_1333507053.jpg

However there seems to be quite a bit of interference as seen in the picture that is attached, the colors are messed up. My conclusion in either the wire is bad or there is a lot of interference that can be fixed by putting some shielding on, like aluminum foil. I really don't know.


Attachments:
Snapshot_20120407.JPG
Snapshot_20120407.JPG [ 37.33 KiB | Viewed 76605 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:00 pm
Posts: 1
hello all
i connect display from broken imac g5 17" to hdmi connector and it works great!!!
interconnection between hdmi and dvi you can find on web
i was happy for 20minutes


but after 20 minutes of working display lost backlight.
it looks like inverter problem. (on pin 3 of inverter i connect 3.3V)
can anybody help me?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 12:42 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14485
Welcome aboard Kostic ! :welcome:

Hopefully someone that knows will drop in. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:10 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Hi Kostic,

I've not seen many inverters successfully repaired. Your best bet would probably be to find a replacement. The G5 LCD has two backlights, and any inverter that supports two backlights should work (maybe with a little creativity) as long as it has some documentation on how to power it.

Be careful. The output from the inverter is very high voltage.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:52 am
Posts: 8
Hi all,

My inverter broke as well. Would an inverter that has 4 plugs work ok for the 2 plugs on the g5 imac monitor?

I will try the hdmi connection soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:39 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Unless you have an unusual inverter that requires a load on the other two CCFL connectors it should work fine, assuming you have information on how to wire it up to the power supply. Be sure to cap the unused ends so they don't short out.

I may have a spare inverter but I'm not sure where it's at and would want to verify that it works. I'm still not done unpacking.

Thanks for coming back and keeping us updated,
- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 10:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 1:51 am
Posts: 1
leggot wrote:
New Update:
Messed up. My conclusion in either the wire is bad or there is a lot of interference that can be fixed by putting some shielding on, like aluminum foil. I really don't know.


It's probably the wiring.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 10:49 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14485
Welcome aboard Sainz ! :welcome:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 9:33 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Unfortunately Sainz is posting in a long-dead thread from a suspicious IP range (currently allocated to SimpleLink, a company with an unbranded page hosted with an expired SSL certificate, in an IP range that was previously registered to Choopa, which fell near the "ban on site" category, and the with poster's actual IP address previously reported as a source of forum spam elsewhere). If that weren't enough, he/she is registered using an email address at a newly registered anonymous domain that has itself been a source of spam registrations, and that is only obviously hosting a cgi-bin folder. Hmmm...

This isn't typical of a human. If Sainz is human, not a spammer or spambot, we would be much obliged if he/she would write a few sentences describing his/her ISP (perhaps including the type of connection, name of the provider, and whether the connection is through a VPN), as well as a brief comment about what led him/her to this site.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group