XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Wed May 24, 2017 1:30 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
My wife has a G5 iMac PPC desktop. After booting up, she receives a message that she needs to press the Power button and Restart button at the same time. Is there a restart button on the G5 iMac? I have a G3 (upgraded to a G4 Processor) and am familiar with the restart button location on that desktop PPC.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 5:43 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
Try powering down, even if it needs to be unplugged, then try starting in Safe Mode holding Shift key… what happens then?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 3:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9243
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I wonder if it's trying to get you to reset the SMU:
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT1767


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
BDAqua & MonkeyBoy,

I am sorry for the delay in reporting back on this issue.. when I submitted my issue. i was away from from my home where my wife's G5 iMac was located and she was afraid to perform your recommendations for fear of not doing the steps correctly/ I attempted to start the iMac in Safe Mode, but the computer immediately displayed that the computer displayed that the iMac needed to be restarted, followed by the following information:
Unable to find driver for this platform. Power Mac 8.1
Latest backtrace: for cpu 0
0x000954F8 0x0095A10 0x00026898 0x000281EC4 0x002C1068 0x002C1AD0 0x00C20DC

SV=0x0153280; PC=0000000X000000000030; MSR=0000000030; DAR=00000000DS; TSR=0x0000000000;
R10x00000000; XCP=0x00000000 (unknown)
kernel version
darwin kernel 8.11.8 Wed Oct 18: 26;08PDT_2007: root: xnu-732.24.17-1/Release_PPC
No debugger configured-dumping debug information
If you need me to recheck the above information, please do not hesitate to ask. Looking at all those 0's, the print became a little blurry.

I hope you will be able to help me


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:24 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
Does it boot to Single User Mode, CMD+s keys at bootup, if so try...

/sbin/fsck -fy

Repeat until it shows no errors fixed.

(Space between fsck AND -fy important).

http://www.westwind.com/reference/os-x/ ... -user.html

Anything?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
B,

Have not tried command + s at boot up, but not sure what to do with /sbin/fsck -fy if it does boot up. Do I bring up Terminal mode and insert /sbin/fsck -fy :confused:

Have not looked at: http://www.westwind.com/reference/os-x/ ... -user.html yet
Darrell


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:36 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
Yes, if it boots using CMD+s, type in that command at the Terminal like prompt, see if it repairs Disk, repeat until no errors if it works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
After you inset the /shin/Fock -fy, does, does it automatically new line or should insert the command followed by a Return or Enter?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:25 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
You have to hit Return.

Oh. it's fsck not what you typed. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
B,
Cmd+s worked and took me to the Terminal-like screen. I typed in the /sbin/fsck -fy (sorry about the message where I fat-fingered the o and s), hit Return and waited. Waited about 15inutes and typed in another /sbin/... and waited. Did not receive any response nor did I receive "No error found, but the computer sounded like it kicked into a higher gear. I do not know if the sound meant that the HD was spinning or what. I did this for about an hour, received nofeedback and gave up. Should I have kept going?

When the terminal-like screen first appeared after booting up, I received the following statements minus the 10 digit codes:
Error Couldn't read data for device entry Driver - 7db000
Error Couldn't read XML property list for device entry
XML parse error
Couldn't read data entry driver
Unresolved kernel trap 9cpu 0): 0x300-Data Access
Latest crash info for cpu 0.....
Backtrace
Proceeding back via Exception chain....
Previous dumped as latest state skipping....
Kernel Version
"We are hanging here"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9243
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
It looks like your HD is so trashed it can't even start in single user mode. It could be a few other things but it's certainly not booting to the point where you can run fsck.

When a Mac is in single user mode the fans will slowly ramp up from their initial values to their maximum values, this is because the thermal management system isn't being managed by the OS. Rather than let the internal components burn to a crisp it just defaults to running them at max, though it takes some time to get there for aesthetic reasons. People get all wigged out when fans run on high these days. :roll:

Do you have any OS installation media available? Another Mac and an external drive, that you can convert into a bootable drive?

You need to boot off another OS installation of some kind to see if the problem is limited to the internal drive (it will boot off other drives) or if it affects all drives attached to the system. The latter would indicate a more serious hardware problem, while the former just means the internal hard drive is damaged in some way but the system itself is fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 12:22 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
Great post from MB, thanks. :)

We might or might not get more clues by starting in Verbose mode... CMD+v keys on startup.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9243
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
To be honest if it's not booting into single user, I don't think verbose will get more information.

The initial part of single user mode is the same as the initial part of verbose mode, so if he's not reaching the prompt in SU... while I agree it's still worth a shot I'm just not very hopeful of a change in status.

Maybe start in verbose then try to take a legible picture of the screen? Low tech I know but it beats trying to type it all out by hand! :lol:

I actually took a picture of a server error one time. Little dialog box in the middle of the screen about how system can't continue because "something occurred." :bonk:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 5:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
My latest post did not get posted in this discussion. (Where it went I do not know, but I think it was transmitted at the same time MB sent his. CMD +v had the same results as CMD +s. When I booted the first time, with CMD +v,the fan started out as high speed (loud. I disconnected the computer power cord from the power strip, waited 30 seconds, plugged the cord in and restarted. The fan started out at its normal volume (barely audible) and later started ramping up.

RE: MB's request of spare Hard drive and installation media. I have a spare WD 128GB HD that was installed in a G4 Original Purple iMac and I have a set of OS X 10.4 install disks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:54 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
Apparently n eMail to MB via this ste did not work.
Quote:
Whatever you can do for you me, I would really appreciate it. Thank you


Attachments:
MB'sRequest1.gif
MB'sRequest1.gif [ 3.7 MiB | Viewed 2083 times ]
MB'sRequest2.gif
MB'sRequest2.gif [ 2.27 MiB | Viewed 2083 times ]
MB'sRequest3.gif
MB'sRequest3.gif [ 3.06 MiB | Viewed 2083 times ]
MB'sRequest4.gif
MB'sRequest4.gif [ 3.07 MiB | Viewed 2083 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:59 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
Quote:
I have a set of OS X 10.4 install disks

Does it boot from them?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
No, from those screens, I typed the /skin/Fock -fy to try to fix the errors as you instructed


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:57 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
But holding c key or alt key, does it boot from the 10.4 Install Discs?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9243
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Sorry, I've been insanely busy at work lately, they trimmed our department down to 2 people then the other guy went into the hospital, so I've been running on very little sleep and even less time... I saw your message when I was lying in bed one night, by the time I got some free time to check the forum your message was gone, but I didn't have any time to really do much besides scratch my head.


Your system is currently crashing extremely early in the boot process. In that verbose booting screen the third line is where it goes awry and crashes and frankly I've never seen that error before so something is seriously wrong. It could indicate a problem with your OS installation or a hardware problem. It's probably just something wrong with the hard drive, and it doesn't necessarily mean everything is lost, it just means that you can't boot from it anymore.

I would try booting off those DVDs you have. If they're the ones your system came with, they should start right up. Then try running Disk Utility and see if it can repair the internal drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:54 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
Thanks MB.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
Money Boy,

I tried to boot from the Install Disk, but neither recommendation (at power up, press 'C"or "Alt" keystroke) from BD Aqua. Neither produced the Blue Language screen, usually seen at the start of the OS X installation process and to initiate the Disk Utility Program. Each keystroke produced a different screen.
Pressing 'C' at start up:
Attachment:
102_1484.JPG
102_1484.JPG [ 315.66 KiB | Viewed 2064 times ]

This image appeared in the middle of the screen
Pressing 'ALT'at start up:
Attachment:
102_1485.JPG
102_1485.JPG [ 126.49 KiB | Viewed 2064 times ]

This image appeared in upper left side of the screen
I did not try to manuever within either screen


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:04 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
On that top screen showing here,, try clicking on the Install Disc & hit enter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
B,
I was unable to reproduce the screen. I tried both 'C'&'ALT' twice and it came u with the image below. I know this sounds funny, but the computer was inactive for better than 24 hours and that screen was the first image to appear. I would like to try it again after a period of 12 hours of being turned off.
Attachment:
102_1486.JPG
102_1486.JPG [ 674.16 KiB | Viewed 2062 times ]


I wish I knew to click on the the OS X install disk before I turned the computer off. I only turned it off because the fan or HD kicked into high gear and I was trying to avoid anything else from going wrong


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:51 pm 
Online
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14417
Sorry, don't worry about the fans, they go into high gear for safety when no OS is available to control them.

If you get that Startup manager again, you can click on your choice then click the right arrow or press enter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2015 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 10:28 pm
Posts: 125
B,
Been working the last several days trying to get the Download Manager to come up. Have been trying to use 'C' at start up and continue to receive:
Attachment:
102_1486.JPG
102_1486.JPG [ 670.79 KiB | Viewed 2012 times ]

or:
Attachment:
102_1488.JPG
102_1488.JPG [ 721.1 KiB | Viewed 2012 times ]


I decided to re-read the x704 Posts and found that I overlooked using the Option key at power up. I received:
Attachment:
102_1490.JPG
102_1490.JPG [ 216.68 KiB | Viewed 2012 times ]

After selecting the 10.4 Installation disk, I hit Enter as instructed and the result was either a blank screen or attachment 1 of this post, minus the dialog box. I was never routed to the Installation disk so I could attempt to use the Disk Utility.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group