XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: So…
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 6:15 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4233
Location: Uranus
Anything exciting in the world of pre-G3 these days? I am happy to report that both my Powerbook 180 and Mac Plus (and external Dataframe 20MB HD) still function perfectly… well, so do my Atari 800 (and 810 disk drive) and Atari Super Pong.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 10:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 1441
I have a Quadra 840AV that I've held onto for years simply because it's the fastest 68k Mac Apple made. I suppose I'll have to get it running one of these days...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 11:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9268
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
I wish I had kept ahold of my 840AV. I should've shuffled it back into my office (for being on the shutdown crew I was able to buy all the equipment in my office at firesale pricing)... I don't think Hellcats over the Pacific is going to run well through Classic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:20 pm
Posts: 2247
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Hellcats over the Pacific is going to run well through Classic.
that was one of my gavorite games back in the day! :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2396
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
mc68k wrote:
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Hellcats over the Pacific is going to run well through Classic.
that was one of my gavorite games back in the day! :mrgreen:


It'd probably have been one of my favorites if not for the fact that it crashed on every mac I ever tried it on and I just gave up. Funny thing is, it was more stable (though it still crashed and burned hard rather quickly) under the 68k DRE built into the 601/604 series CPUs than it ever was natively on a 68k mac.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 1433
Location: Atlanta, GA
Going through my storage area and there it is... 9500/132, still there. Sigh. I snatched it from the jaws of junk from my employer so that some day, in the future, when I had an Intel Mac, I may attempt to run OS 9 via SheepShaver. Oh my, I now have TWO intel Macs. So I've gotta wonder, is it worth it? Do I nourish my inner (albeit 10 thumbed) geek?

I haven't tried to boot it, ever (although it was working when I got it). Hm, what to do. After all these years I have lost my interest in OS 9, not entirely, because there are one or two software programs (or what we call apps these days), that I still run. Has anyone here succeeded at getting OS 9 on an Intel Mac via sheepsaver? I'm a lazy geek, it has to be no more difficult than "medium" on the scale of easy to hard.

Anyway, that's my pre-G3 world. (Wish I had kept the 8600, that was a fantastic machine.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:15 pm
Posts: 5852
Location: NYC
You should at least power it up every few weeks and leave it on for a while. The electrolytic capacitors need to be "formed" every once in a while or they lose their ability to hold a charge. This is true of any old electronics.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 1433
Location: Atlanta, GA
Gack. For that I would need a keyboard. I don't think I have one. Eh, eBay, but seems almost a waste of money. Maybe it is time to dump it afterall?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:08 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14480
I have several ADB KBs, but not sure it'd be worth shipping.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 1:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9268
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
The 9500 has a power switch on the back of the case, no keyboard needed to turn it on. It's round and looks like it has a slot for a flat screwdriver running through it. Near the top of the case if I remember right.

Depending on what video card is inside you may need a DB15 to VGA adapter. THOSE are hard to come by these days. I found a bunch before I moved but I can't remember if I chucked them or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:36 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
MonkeyBoy wrote:
...you may need a DB15 to VGA adapter. THOSE are hard to come by these days...

I have a whole bunch.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9268
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Maybe I can send my bunch to meet your bunches and they can make more adapters, like rabbits do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:44 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9636
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
MonkeyBoy wrote:
Maybe I can send my bunch to meet your bunches and they can make more adapters, like rabbits do.

Rabbits make adapters? I thought China made adapters. :confused: :confused:

Pretty soon someone's gonna tell me that storks make rabbits, and babies make storks and I'm really going to embarrass myself on a date.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9268
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Rabbits make all kinds of things. Like messes. And rabbits. And poop. And rabbits. And...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 2713
Location: home
:D
You make me look obsolete!
:D

_________________
Escaping Special Character


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: So…
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2396
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
miero wrote:
:D
You make me look obsolete!
:D


As long as there's rabbits for you to hunt, you'll never be obsolete.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group