XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:44 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 6:03 am 

Especially following a situation with LinkedIn that I believe was more than coincidental a couple of years ago, I've never liked staying logged in to websites.

But are there/can there be any security risks by doing so?

MacMini 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.12.5

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:11 am 

I am by no means an expert on this. I recall reading a number of years ago about how being logged in left an open conduit that supposedly somebody really tech savvy could utilize but that was a number of years ago and with the prevalence of being logged in these days maybe the secure site feature has minimized that. I know I stay logged into some sites for hours at a time and have seen no issues.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:07 pm 

When you read about cross site scripting vulnerabilities, that's one site accessing another site using whatever credentials are available in the browser to access the other site. Facebook is the prime target of this, so if you can stay logged out of Facebook you're safe from most miscreants.

I tend to keep connections logged in while I have the browser open, but then clear most everything when I close the browser, which makes me log back in everywhere I visit after that. Buuuuut I don't log into Facebook, LinkedIn, etc. except in very rare instances.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:12 pm 
Master

For sufficiently loose definitions of logged in, it presents more opportunity for security issues if the site is programmed in an insecure manner:
  • Simplify tracking as you browse other sites (this is usually intentional, a la Facebook)
  • Allow cross-site request forgery
  • Is a precondition to stealing session cookies for accessing the site
  • Probably more...