XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Tue May 23, 2017 10:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 1:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 377
The backlight in my 2011 iMac is beginning to fail and I'm having trouble justifying the cost of the replacement screen for a six year-old machine. I went to the Staples by my house, cold booted the 1.6GHz iMac and immediately decided I didn't want one. My Beige G3 booted Mac OS X significantly faster.

This has me contemplating my collection of Macs. When the shitty 2014 Mac mini came out I rushed out to buy a 2012 Mac mini to replace the 2010 I was using as a server. I have subsequently added Thunderbolt storage to the 2012 Mac mini server. My primary Mac is a 2012 i7 Mac mini with 16GB of memory and a 512GB SSD.

So I find myself contemplating upgrading the 2012 Mac mini I am using as a server to the same standard as a replacement for the iMac but that leaves me in need of a Thunderbolt equipped server. If I swallow my pride and buy the base 2014 Mac mini will it be sufficient for running Server with all the File Sharing related services running (including NetBoot) along with MySQL in support of a small database.

The last time I used a Mac with only 4GB of memory was my Mac mini in 2009 running 10.5, so I approach this possibility with some dread.

Is there any prospect doing this will see me do anything other than pay $500 to get very frustrated?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 4:45 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14413
Apples new machines lack too much, how about a 2011 or 2012 Refurb?

http://www.macofalltrades.com/Refurbish ... -s/299.htm

Upgradable to 8 or 16 GB, & they have Thunderbolt.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9243
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
When looking for used systems I usually poke around eBay until I find something reasonably priced that isn't damaged and being sold as-is.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/182502851018
http://www.ebay.com/itm/282414493519
http://www.ebay.com/itm/122414920738

Obviously you'll want to bump RAM on most but 8GB of Mac qualified DDR3 RAM is only $50. Generic will go for less.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:01 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9608
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
It might depend on your MySQL needs. How much of a query cache do you need to hold on to? My experience is generally that server daemons are usually a lot easier for limited hardware than GUI tasks. If you put in an SSD I suspect it'll perform adequately. Do you think it's running any servers that are RAM constrained?

In the long run you'll probably be frustrated when you find other things you need it to do, but it might work for the time being.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 377
I'm reluctant to buy used because I have begun to see hardware problems with a few 2011 and 2012 Mac minis.

I however just noticed that the 4GB Mac mini has been marked down at Best Buy to $399.

I don't know if that telegraphs that the abomination that is the 2014 Mac mini is EOL or possibily nothing at all.

I have been experimenting with the MySQL database on a MacBook Pro with only 4GB of memory and it seems to be behaving reasonably well. Although that is in a machine with an SSD. There is a damaged 2014 MacBook Pro I can probably appropriate the Apple SSD from, but I am still lost in space and contemplating biting the bullet on another iMac with my tax return.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:23 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9608
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
How large is your database and how large a query cache do you suspect you need?

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 377
The database is about 8GB, i'm not sure on the query cache. I haven't set that manually.

Although oddly enough the backlighting appears to have returned to normal.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:27 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9608
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
What's the IO load look like? I don't think the RAM will make a difference for MySQL as it's configured, but the if the read/write load on the DB is high enough that the drive can't keep up you'll grind to a halt very quickly.

If it were me I'd put in a Samsung 850 Pro in either way. Then it won't matter what kind of IO load it's hitting and the rest of the system will be more tolerably responsive as well.

I'm also kind of surprised no one seems to be offering a RAM upgrade for these systems and others with soldered RAM. I'd bet you could just replace the RAM chips and be set. As far as I can tell that wouldn't be too hard with a good rework station (in Shanghai you can have it done for the flash in your iPhone while you wait). Charge $90 labor + cost of RAM for bare board upgrades, or $180 + cost of RAM if not already disassembled, and you might have a viable business...and it would still be cheaper than buying RAM from Apple.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 377
Those guys in Shenzhen have a little more than a rework station at their disposal.

The thing that really surprises me is nobody has built an adapter to use standard PCIe SSD modules in these things. You just need the pinouts of the flex cable and some double-sided tape.

The IO isn't too bad, I used to run this on an Atom 330 without too much strain.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 2:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9243
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
It'd be easier if Apple just stopped using proprietary nonsense and started using industry standard parts. Didn't M.2 drives start shipping around the time Apple switched to their proprietary PCIe slot?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:43 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9608
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Yup. :roll:

Apple just doesn't want you upgrading or repairing your Apple computer. Or at least I haven't heard an alternative plausible explanation for Apple's behavior that fits the data.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group