XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Mon May 22, 2017 9:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:01 pm
Posts: 2676
You can now run 9 in full-screen mode
http://www.macwindows.com/OS9_on_Intel_Mac.html#030209c

_________________
"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:53 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14411
Thanks for the tip! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2009 6:58 pm 
Offline
Executive Director of the x704.net Think Tank
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 2745
How stable is Sheepshaver? I have a need to run OS 9 24/7 on some kiosks to display a interactive flash thingee.

_________________
I believe in a long, prolonged derangement of the senses to attain the unknown.
-Jim Morrison.

On Obama: "Muhammad Ali also had a way with words, but it helped enormously that he could punch guys in the face."
-Bill Maher


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 10:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
If you're running an interactive Flash display...why on earth are you using OS 9?

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 9:46 am 
Offline
Executive Director of the x704.net Think Tank
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 2745
It's for an Art Museum. Whoever they paid to make the flash file created it in an OS 9 only format. They only have the file, not the project, so I can't recompile it in flash. And I can figure out a way to make it work in OS X. I converted it so it would run under Windows and I'm booting the 3 minis into XP and running it for now.

_________________
I believe in a long, prolonged derangement of the senses to attain the unknown.
-Jim Morrison.

On Obama: "Muhammad Ali also had a way with words, but it helped enormously that he could punch guys in the face."
-Bill Maher


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 2:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:10 pm
Posts: 3185
Location: Spain
I wonder if it would work under iCab in OSX? If the .swf is the only one running you could give iCab's Kiosk Mode a go and see what happens. That's an off the top of my head suggestion and I haven't thought it through. Or is it a Mac-only self running app or something requiring a Director projector?

I know there's a commercial Flash decompiler available somewhere (although I don't know if it works well) and I wonder if there are any free options?

_________________
VILA: They missed us! Avon's gadget works!
BLAKE: [to Avon] Is something wrong?
AVON: It just occurred to me, that as the description of a highly sophisticated technological achievement, 'Avon's gadget works' seems to lack a certain style.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 2:44 pm 
Offline
Executive Director of the x704.net Think Tank
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:05 pm
Posts: 2745
I think it's a director projector.

_________________
I believe in a long, prolonged derangement of the senses to attain the unknown.
-Jim Morrison.

On Obama: "Muhammad Ali also had a way with words, but it helped enormously that he could punch guys in the face."
-Bill Maher


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
How well does SheepShaver support audio/QuickTime? I've two uses for OS 9 right now.

1) To listen to Lemmings music, since both myself and BDA have been unsuccessful at extracting and converting the music stored in the resource files of the game (the original Mac Lemmings).

2) Conversion of MIDI files to Piano. This got taken out of QT Player (even the Pro version!) in OS X as of 10.2. And for some reason or another, when playing back converted files from 10.0/10.1, whose QTP could convert instruments, the converted AIFF file, which is supposed to be a digital conversion that does NOT require samples, plays back under 10.3/4/5 as if it used the original instruments instead of Piano like I want. Example: I convert Beethoven's 29th to piano from orchestra, eliminating any drumsets in the process. I then use 10.0/10.1's QTP to export the converted MIDI file to AIFF, which does not contain the original instrument samples. I play back said file in any current OS and ....it isn't piano. It's orchestral.

And no, CrapBand doesn't work for this purpose. Yes it can convert instruments. It does NOT however honor any changes of the tempo mid-song. For instance, Beethoven's 29th starts at 180 BPM. Its second movement goes to about 200 BPM. Its final movement shoots up to nearly 400 BPM. CrapBand honors only the original 180 BPM and applies it to the entire file. Changing the BPM at any point changes it for the entire file. Hence, it's useless for converting MIDI files.

Ain't life grand?

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 991
iTunes played midi well for a while. I don't think it does anymore and but it was shocking.

Have you tried player pro?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:02 pm
Posts: 2279
I'm pretty sure the latest version of garageband does support tempo maps (multiple tempos in the same song). If you send me a midi file, I'm happy to try it out for you if you don't have garageband 3.

Alternately, there are many programs that should be able to do what you want with a MIDI file. Certainly Logic can easily. Cubase too. Pro Tools. Know anyone who has one of 'em?

There are some free or at least cheap MIDI programs too, like Ardour, that should do this too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:54 pm 
Offline
he who stacks pork
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 4230
Location: Uranus
The inability to change time signature or key signature are just a few of the reasons why I think that Garage Band sucks. Hell, Studio Session (which came out in 1986 or 1987) had that ability, and one could change the key signature, time signature, instruments, etc. as many times as necessary within a composition. Hard to believe that music applications these days are so backward and lacking in features.

-he who stacks pork

_________________
Macintosh Powerbook 180, System 7.1, 100MB HD, 8MB Ram, external 20MB SCSI HD
2009 Surly 1x1 Anniversary Edition Rat Ride, 2016 9:zero:7 SS fatbike, 2014 Borealis Echo, 2013 SS PRC carbon 29er
I enjoy picnics on the beach and prefer my women crazy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
8600w/G4 wrote:
iTunes played midi well for a while. I don't think it does anymore and but it was shocking.

Have you tried player pro?


The problem isn't in the playing. It's in how the converted midi files (now AIFF, the exact same type of file you get from a direct CD rip) is somehow playing the original instrument set even though I exported the file to AIFF using the piano instrument set.

Quote:
I'm pretty sure the latest version of garageband does support tempo maps (multiple tempos in the same song). If you send me a midi file, I'm happy to try it out for you if you don't have garageband 3.


I have GB3. It came with the Mac Pro. Unlike any SANE app, it a) forces you to create a new blank music project with a tempo nobody uses, b) forces that tempo/time key upon any midi file dragged into the project window, c) the aforementioned dragging of the midi file is the only freaking way to get GB to open a midi file or import it, d) will NOT read the time key of the imported midi file, and e) will not export the file back to a midi file or AIFF. It will also not allow me to change the tempo/key mid song in any way that I can figure out.

If Apple made this app "for the masses", it sorely screwed up. Bigtime. I used to mess with MIDI apps in OS 9. Hell that's how I got sheet music printed (after some massively insane wrangling) for the MIDI version of the Final Fantasy 6 Piano Collections. GB3 lets me see the notes as they are relative to the key/scale chosen during the forced "new project" window, but is otherwise useless. Add to it that it forces you to KEEP the initial track listed in the top of the project window and won't let you delete it, and it wreaks havok with MIDI word clocks that are channel limited.

Can anybody tell me why Apple ditched the ability to change instruments, a noteably obscure feature in the QT music synthesizer and replaced it with this piece of crap software?

I've attached the file that gives this bugger the most annoyance.


Attachments:
File comment: Midi file that confuses the hell out of GB3
Beethoven 29th.mid.zip [21.97 KiB]
Downloaded 165 times

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 1441
Sheepshaver hasn't worked for me for a long time now. It just crashes instantly when you open it with some kind of "file already exists" error in the logs. The devs have no clue why, even though this bug has been around for a long time. I've tried all kinds of proposed fixes and nothing bloody works. Sigh.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
This is gonna be one of those annoying days/weeks/months for me. First the HDMI switching fiasco (none, and I mean NONE of the switchers out there that don't cost as much as a new PC are usable to me), and now SheepShaver still isn't working? Feh. I'm sight limited. I'm hearing limited. I like to...I dunno...ENJOY what I can see/hear. Thankfully my hearing is only volume limited ^_^.

Still, this is all frustrating. I thought as tech improved so too would our quality of life. Seems more like quantity of life than quality these days if you ask me. :(

I. WANT. MY. LEMMINGS.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
Anybody know of a place (other than the pirate bay...tend to stay away from there) that has the Mac OS ROM 1.6 from the 1.0 ROM update? I can't exactly extract it on an Intel Mac as Classic is not supported, thus TomeViewer, my old favorite tool can't be used.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:01 pm
Posts: 2676
where does did it come from or what was it on ?

_________________
"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid".


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 1433
Location: Atlanta, GA
Squishy Tia wrote:
Anybody know of a place (other than the pirate bay...tend to stay away from there) that has the Mac OS ROM 1.6 from the 1.0 ROM update? I can't exactly extract it on an Intel Mac as Classic is not supported, thus TomeViewer, my old favorite tool can't be used.


And this is exactly why I have an old 9500/132 collecting dust in a storage bin because some day I will own an Intel Mac.

Good luck gettin' what 'cha need. Maybe you might find an old PowerMac on eBay that boots OS 9 and so you can extract the ROM?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
ESprung wrote:
Squishy Tia wrote:
Anybody know of a place (other than the pirate bay...tend to stay away from there) that has the Mac OS ROM 1.6 from the 1.0 ROM update? I can't exactly extract it on an Intel Mac as Classic is not supported, thus TomeViewer, my old favorite tool can't be used.


And this is exactly why I have an old 9500/132 collecting dust in a storage bin because some day I will own an Intel Mac.

Good luck gettin' what 'cha need. Maybe you might find an old PowerMac on eBay that boots OS 9 and so you can extract the ROM?


That would defeat teh purpose of having SheepShaver now, wouldn't it? :P

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:59 pm
Posts: 2709
Location: home
Damn we are a cruel being. Even A Swan would at least kill the whole nest! :badteeth:

_________________
Escaping Special Character


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 1433
Location: Atlanta, GA
Squishy Tia wrote:
ESprung wrote:
Squishy Tia wrote:
Anybody know of a place (other than the pirate bay...tend to stay away from there) that has the Mac OS ROM 1.6 from the 1.0 ROM update? I can't exactly extract it on an Intel Mac as Classic is not supported, thus TomeViewer, my old favorite tool can't be used.


And this is exactly why I have an old 9500/132 collecting dust in a storage bin because some day I will own an Intel Mac.

Good luck gettin' what 'cha need. Maybe you might find an old PowerMac on eBay that boots OS 9 and so you can extract the ROM?


That would defeat teh purpose of having SheepShaver now, wouldn't it? :P


Not really, the machine is being kept purely for the ROM. I'm sure it could theoretically be fired up, but why? Too slow for anything useful. The day I get an Intel machine is when I'll try turning it on and extracting the ROM for Sheepsaver.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:21 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14411
You didn't get my email Squishy?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
BDAqua wrote:
You didn't get my email Squishy?


I got it. A reply has been sent. :)

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:02 pm
Posts: 2279
Squishy Tia wrote:
If Apple made this app "for the masses", it sorely screwed up.


I think it's an excellent app for the masses for music creation. Garageband is set up to let people easily create new pieces of music using loops and their own music playing. Your needs are more specific and uncommon... of course it would be great if it COULD do what you ask of it, for your sake, and it wouldn't take that much to do so. But I think you are asking too much of an app, it can't be all things to all people and still be easy to use/for the masses. The fact that it supports MIDI files is great, but for the intended use, there really is no need to support tempo changes imported from MIDI files.

I did see somewhere a tutorial for how to create tempo changes, it's definitely there in gb3. I'll try and find it and include the link here.

Have you tried Ardour? Just curious if that would work for you... it's definitely a more full featured app.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 4:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
So far the only other useable (and I use that term very loosely here) is MuseScore, and its UI is definitely Alpha in its feel. That and the fact it can't interact with the QT music synth and instead relies solely on the soundfont 2 format isn't helping (though that at least opens up some possibilities).

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group