XYMer's Home away from Home

When http://bbs.xlr8yourmac.com is down (i.e. always)
It is currently Tue May 23, 2017 10:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 9:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:31 am
Posts: 106
Hi,

I was working on a MBP 8.1 from early 2011. I replaced 2x the hard disc (1 x dead, 1x new SSD) and I replaced 1x the motherboard (video-card damage).

Now the videocard died again. Apple tells me that my device is VINTAGE :fishsmack:

I bought now a refurbished MBP 9.1 (2012).

My question is if I can just plug the SSD hard disk into the new MBP 9.1.

Will this create problems?

Thanks ! Ququq


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:25 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14413
Judging from EveryMac.com for both, & then OWC, I'd say no problems, same SSD works in most MBPs...

https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/SSD7E6G480/

:coffee:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:31 am
Posts: 106
BDAqua wrote:
Judging from EveryMac.com for both, & then OWC, I'd say no problems, same SSD works in most MBPs...

https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/SSD7E6G480/

:coffee:

Thanks BD!

I have the 2TB form them.

I know that it is the same for both models, but the question was, if I can just plug the old (full one) into the new MBP WITHOUT doing anything on the OSX (drivers settings etc.)

It is 1TB full, and if possible, I would like to avoid reconstructing it from TimeMachine.

What do you think?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:13 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14413
I think you can, you could first test it in an external case or one of those cheap USB->SATA thingies by booting with alt key...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/1723259185 ... noapp=true

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/2820893896 ... noapp=true


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:07 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Inside Flatus Maximus
You'll need to delete and rebuild the startup caches as the .kexts loaded for one MBP aren't necessarily going to work properly on another one that is newer. Nuking the caches will force a new cache to be built using only .kexts that actually load on your machine.

_________________
Official Mac Tech Support Forum Cookie™ (Mint Chocolate Chip)
Guaranteed tasty; Potentially volatile when dipped in WWIII Forum Syrup®
Caution: This cookie bites back.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:33 pm 
Offline
Master

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:24 am
Posts: 9608
Location: North of the State of Jefferson
Provided you're running at least OS X 10.7.3 you shouldn't have a problem.

- Anonymous


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 2:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9243
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
Yeah, so long as the OS is new enough to support the new model, you can just bring a drive along for the ride.

The first boot on the new hardware will be rough since the caches are incorrect, but it will build them automatically and boot faster the second (or third?) time. OS updates include new kexts so its not like having an invalid cache is anything unusual, OS X handles it automagically.

If you really want that New Mac Smell you can startup in single user mode and clear cache folders by hand, but if you're unfamiliar with Terminal this isn't a good idea. One rm in the wrong folder and you've got pain.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:15 pm
Posts: 5822
Location: NYC
Onyx, the correct version for whatever OS, has various functions that can assist with getting things setup right.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:31 am
Posts: 106
Thanks to all!

As I said, the old MBP is dead. On the 2TB SSD there was Mavericks running (10.9). But I cannot install anything more because it is in a dead MBP.

The new one is installed with Sierra (10.12.4). And I would like to take the SSD with Mavericks and insert it in place of the Sierra SATA.

When I have to delete and rebuild the startup caches with the .kexts, how should I do it? But it seems to be going automatically, right?

Where would I have to install Onyx (thanks for the hint!)


One other question is the keyboard: The new one has an US, the old one (the one for which the Mavericks SSD was running) has a CH_FR. I would like to continue to use the CH_FR, which I can do using the CH_FR input source, however, even when changing single keys on the physical keyboard to mach the settings, I guess the startup keyboard will always be US, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:25 am 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14413
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202038


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:15 pm
Posts: 5822
Location: NYC
Quote:
When I have to delete and rebuild the startup caches with the .kexts, how should I do it? But it seems to be going automatically, right?

Where would I have to install Onyx (thanks for the hint!)


Onyx from developer is here https://www.titanium-software.fr/en/onyx.html Be sure to get only the 10.12 download. No longer remember if I had to allow "Anywhere" in Security Preferences. But if that's needed, it's completely safe. Just don't get it from anywhere other than Titanium.

I have it installed in /Applications.

On startup, it will always offer to check the disk--maybe do it the first time, but after that probably just quit that immediately. Also, first time probably good idea to read the "Important information."

Screenshot below is from my 10.11, but assume it's the same or very similar in 10.12. Some functions overlapping or duplicated in Automation and Maintenance. Have a look around and become familiar with it.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:13 pm
Posts: 9243
Location: Caught between the moon and NYC
2012 should support 10.7.3 or later so you should be able to boot 10.9 straight without any changes. Clearing caches generally is a good idea when swapping systems like this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:31 am
Posts: 106
Dear all,

Thanks for help!

Just for the records. The SSD (from OWC) did not work in an external box. I already contacted OWC, and then learned that it cannot work in a external drive box.

When I plugged it inside the MBP 2012 it first started until a grey screen with blinking folder and question mark.

I then restarted pressing the option key and then chose the Macintosh HD. From there the booting was easy.

The kext clearing was done with:

Code:
sudo chown root:admin /
sudo kextcache -system-prelinked-kernel
sudo kextcache -system-caches

I hope that is correct.

I then also did a shift_boot (safe boot).

At the end, now, the behaviour of the whole system seems very normal, and I think the procedure succeeded.

Thanks to all!
Ququq


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:55 pm 
Offline
Benevolent Dictator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:03 am
Posts: 14413
:D :coffee:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group